We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently close to Stanford University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanford Terrace Inn
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Conveniently close to Stanford University”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A bit different breakfast only hotel. Nice large rooms but with noisy old fashioned air conditioning units. Most unusual parking level. The breakfasts in the lobby offered a wide range of choices. All in all a pretty good place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NosslinDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    42
    53
    32
    18
See reviews for
33
21
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The rooms are very large and the property is conveniently located to Stanford. Those are the positives.
The negatives: The rooms are noisy: guests can hear everything from rooms above - running water, flushes, conversations. The room had a strange, chemical smell. Organic cleansers? Don't think so.There is no manager on site - if you have any issue, you have to send a message to an administrative address. And that won't be answered. Ever.

There is a baby grand piano that constantly plays in the garage. By itself. Surrounded by plants and empty chairs. Very creepy.

For the odd, poorly managed place that it is, the Inn is quite overpriced. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 823AndreaLA823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The rooms only have windows towards an inside walk way and are hence extremely dark. Ok to spend a few days in during business travel. I once spent 2 weeks there, and I didn't enjoy spending time in my room except for sleeping.

There is a very nice garden to sit in on the inside but of course this only works if the weather is nice.

When I stayed there several appliances in the fitness room and also the washing machine were broken and not fixed during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I ended up here by accident, and did not now what to expect.
I think most other review naled it: if you're into plants, organic and a different experience: this is it.

I must admit that I kinda liked it. The place was quite and clean. It could use some work, but then again, this is part of the atmosphere.

Happy with the experience, but probably not returning.

Oh, and yes, a bit to expensive for what you get...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
埼玉
Level Contributor
581 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

雰囲気が良くお勧めです! excellent ! my sun would like to go U. of STANFORD!大学近くのバス停から無料シャトル5分でSTANFORDへ行けます.

very nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagoriyuki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I only stayed 1 night to be close by a meeting held at Stanford the next morning. I loved all the plants in the garden area - the pictures of all those plants on their site is the main reason I chose to stay here. There were 3 people working the front desk when I got in (10p) and they were all very nice. Parking was convenient (free and underground behind a gate). My room was upstairs (215). The room was huge and very clean. I didnt expect the electric fireplace or such a huge tv. Room was very quiet all night - GREAT change from the Residence Inn I was at the 2 nights before with a frat party or something going on next door. I did not try the breakfast so I cant comment on that. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Mine seemed to be off by itself, not along the sides of the garden. Very quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is one of the most overpriced places I've stayed at. At $308 a night, the quality of service was ridiculous. The breakfast spread is not very good. Admittedly, most places in PA are pretty expensive. But my experience with this place makes me feel like I would have been better off paying an additional $50-$100 and staying at a good business class hotel. The staff are so careless, the day that I was checking out, they charged me $2900 instead of $970! After pleading with them to show me their records, and making two trips back to the place after I had checked-out, I found that they had charged everything twice! And to top things off, I had used a prepaid forex card! I wouldn't have worried as much if I had used a credit card, as it's farely easy to cancel a transaction. But with a debit card, it's a whole different ball game. I was told by my bank that it would take 21 days (after calling them 5 times and placing a hold request) for the money to credit back, provided that the hotel doesn't claim the transactions. I immediately contacted the hotel again and the lady at the front desk said she would send me proof that the transactions had been cancelled from the hotel's end via email, but she never did. So I had to make yet another trip to the hotel to coerce them into showing me their record again, and found to my dismay that they hadn't cancelled the transactions yet! After numerous phone calls, and visits to the place, I finally got my money back after a month! On the whole, it was a very bad experience for me. Even though this place is in walking distance to many shops and restaurants (the only pro), I would suggest paying a little extra and staying someplace else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheVid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
1.0 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Keen
Hotel Keen
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
75 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Terrace Inn

Property: Stanford Terrace Inn
Address: 531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanford Terrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the Stanford campus, you'll find the Stanford Terrace Inn, an oasis of unexpected elegance. In the midst of Silicon Valley, you'll discover a tradition of old world hospitality. Here, Tuscan murals adorn the walls, evoking a timeless sense of luxury. Our secluded garden setting and sun-drenched patio makes it easy to unwind. Or perhaps relieve the stresses of the day in our heated pool. Inside your over-sized guest room, you'll find all the modern conveniences. Complimentary cable TV, high-speed Internet access, and a desk large enough to get some real work done. All at a price that's pleasantly surprising. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanford Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Terrace Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Terrace Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing