We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this time prefect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Terrace Inn
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“this time prefect”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I have stayed at this hotel serveral times on business travelling from Europe. My last stay in June 10 was about as perfect as a hotel stay can be. Again, amazing staff, brilliant service. After a long flight from Europe I was checking into a quiet room in minutes. The rooms are a good size, very comfy beds, good bathrooms, easy parking. If I had to point out any minor issues, I would say, shower water pressure / flow. room service menu a little poor, but hey, these are very minor things. This hotel is great, the management should be rightfully proud, looking forward to my next stay in October. Good to know this very comfortable hotel and those amazing staff will be there to welcome me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    42
    53
    33
    20
See reviews for
33
22
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

An excellent value for the price. The back courtyard is very quiet and attractive, rooms are spacious, breakfast was delicious, bed was very comfortable. My only suggestions are: (1) bathroom door needs to open outwards, not inwards (too awkward/cramped to open the door from the inside); (2) the framed posters on the walls should be of California scenes, not of Italian Mediterranean scenes; and (3) the lounge chairs in the rooms, while comfortable, are far from the reading lights, and have to be moved in order to read anything while sitting in them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1849CalifTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel because I was visiting Stanford with my children. I loved every minute of it. It is filled with a special personal touch which we absolutely loved. For instance, they greet you with the welcome chocolate mint. I also loved their continental breakfast which is free.

I also loved the fact that they had two queen beds, not two double beds.


One thing I did not like was that the elevator is pretty small and hard to find.

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lvpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I really like Stanford Terrace Inn, having stayed there twice in the past three years, and have enjoyed the service, rooms, and amenities. However, right as I was leaving the hotel this weekend, we found a live, adult bedbug on one of the beds. I immediately alerted the front desk staff, who were very friendly and helpful. My concern is that they did not take my complaint seriously. Housekeeping staff were sent up to "check the room" for more bedbugs, and since they did not find any, that was it. They offered to comp me the room for that night, but this is a very serious problem that cannot be swept under the rug, so to speak. When you see one bedbug, that means that there are many, many more, and, since they are nocturnal, it seems absurd to 'check for them' in the morning, and conclude that all is well when none are spotted.

This wouldn't bother me so much if it weren't for the fact that I have been told by other guests that the people who stayed in my room the next night also complained about bedbugs -- so they rented the room out again, even knowing that there were bedbugs in it! That is deplorable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SanFranciscoBoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

There was a very beautiful view, enjoyed the company, and near to several places that I needed to go to.

Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sblue62eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Clean, spacious, well appointed and green. A perfect hotel on the Peninsula. Always a friendly staff and a killer morning breakfast. The lobby aroma in the morning is heavenly!!! Safe and free parking and a really nice pool. I was blown away by the amenities in the rooms and how large they were.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank steinassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Decent room but musty smell from the air conditioning made the stay very unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rynea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
657 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.8 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
399 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Nest Palo Alto
The Nest Palo Alto
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Terrace Inn

Property: Stanford Terrace Inn
Address: 531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanford Terrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the Stanford campus, you'll find the Stanford Terrace Inn, an oasis of unexpected elegance. In the midst of Silicon Valley, you'll discover a tradition of old world hospitality. Here, Tuscan murals adorn the walls, evoking a timeless sense of luxury. Our secluded garden setting and sun-drenched patio makes it easy to unwind. Or perhaps relieve the stresses of the day in our heated pool. Inside your over-sized guest room, you'll find all the modern conveniences. Complimentary cable TV, high-speed Internet access, and a desk large enough to get some real work done. All at a price that's pleasantly surprising. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanford Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Terrace Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Terrace Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing