We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but too hot inside”
Review of Oren's Hummus Shop

Oren's Hummus Shop
Ranked #3 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malibu
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but too hot inside”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The food was fresh and flavorful and portion size was good. The temperature inside was sweltering so take a table outside if available. Desserts were ok.

Helpful?
Thank MalibuNano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    93
    28
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasty!!! Great side dishes!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We got lucky and got seated right before noon - it got very crowded shortly thereafter. Two kids split a chicken rice bowl that they cleaned up, and my daughter got the hummus with beef - so much hummus! We had enough leftover for one lunch and two snacks! I had the Romanian eggplant, whose roasted flavor really came through, and the Moroccan carrots, which were also a treat (though the eggplant was better). We ate until we would burst and took plenty home. Great place, very fresh!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DbTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food if you can get in!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Tried to get in here atleast three times and finally managed it at 10pm on a Tuesday night. I would give it 3.5 stars but Tripadvisor doesn't do halves. While the food was great, it is after all only hummous so its not fine dining!!

So, a couple of things - I found both types of chilli they put on the table to be REALLY spicy, maybe I'm just a wimp.

The hummous appetizers are HUGE, well actually the white pittas' are fluffy and tasty and very filling, the wholewheat ones just don't compare! My friend & I shared the hummous triangle, hummous was tasty, fava beans was not nice, cold texture just didn't sit right with the hummous. The baba ghannouj was lovely though.

Good atmosphere and friendly restaurant staff, very clean toilets :) Mint tea is a waste of time. However the food prices are very reasonable :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Judge_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hummus!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Buy the sampler! Pickled carrots, tomatoes, hummus, a fresh yogurt cheese, and two types of eggplant--Babaganush and Romanian, and pickled beets all with fresh pita. Absolutely delicious! service was swift and efficient.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Okay Lunch”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After a tour of Stanford University, we dropped by Oren's Hummus Shop. The look of the restaurant is hip and fun - brick walls and hummus trivia written on chalkboards.

We ordered three pita sandwiches - eggplant, falafel and grilled chicken. I was disappointed that each of the fillings was cold and apparently not cooked to order. The pita bread was also cold and not warmed on the grill. Each pita sandwich only had a small dab of hummus. Since there were only two other customers there besides us, I wish there had been more attention paid to preparing the pita sandwiches.

Except for a small dish of pickled salad, the sandwiches came with no sides. The pita sandwiches ranged from $9 to 11.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PackUpNGoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oren's Hummus Shop also viewed

 

Been to Oren's Hummus Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing