We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Value”
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2007

I've been to Palo Alto many times and this was a short notice trip where my other usual choices were all unavailable - including the Holiday Inn Express on El Camino and the Marriott Courtyard. So I went out on a limb choosing this place due to its location and price.

At first when I pulled up, I didn't think I was going to enjoy it b/c it was on a busy intersection and the outside looks somewhat quaint and something you would find during the Robinhood days.

But after a few days there, it became comfortable and very convenient to Stanford, Menlo Park, Mountain View, Silicon Valley, Stanford Shopping Center and of course around town in Palo Alto.

The rooms are clean. Traditional motel furnishings. Lamp that didn't work, but housekeeping took care of that right away.

I asked for two double beds and got two full size instead of queen size beds. So it was tight with two people on one bed. Beds are firm. Somewhat lumpy, but you got used to that.

Vanity is outside "bathroom" which had toilet and shower.

Bathroom is clean, Tub is deep b/c it is a shower, tub, jacuzzi in one. Didn't try the jacuzzi function.

Breakfast is: variety of muffins, cereal, oatmeal, Sunny Delight, Juice boxes, apples, oranges, apple sauce, hard bagels and not so tasty croissants.

Toiletries - shampoo/conditioner combo, shower cap, small bars of soap.

Nice free wireless internet! Fast connection.

Overall - good value to save some money and enjoy the town. Not for honeymoon or any romantic getaways.

Variety of room setups. Try to get a room away from El Camino Real.

Cleaning ladies were extremely nice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CrossCountryDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2007

The Townhouse Inn offers well-priced motel-style accomodation in an area where there are few bargains to be had. Both rooms I had were clean and well-equiped (didn't get chance to use the TV much, though, so can't say much about the choice of channels.) The included wi-fi was fast and the choice in the (also included) cold buffet breakfast was also good. Staff were very helpful too.

However, there is one drawback which is that the motel is on a busy intersection, and many of the rooms back on to El Camino Real, the busier of the two intersecting roads. (I had to move rooms after my first night, I was woken up by a police car despite using earplugs). If like me, you find traffic noise a problem, then you needs to make sure you get a room that is well away from both roads.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DavidBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

In a town where ridiculous hotel prices (particularly during the work week) seem to rule the roost, the Townhouse Inn is a refreshing change.

I've stayed here a half-dozen times when in town for business, and each time, I get a clean, quiet room that ensures I'm refreshed the next day. The hotel also offers a complimentary light breakfast. I imagine the hotel's easy proximity to high tech companies, as well as Stanford, would greatly benefit out-of-towners who are on a limited budget.

I'm probably running a risk writing this review in that people will take this seriously, and I will not be able to get the last-minute reservation I always seem to get when I need an inexpensive room with great service from Ina and his crew. Still, they deserve it, and after several stays, I am quite convinced the Townhouse Inn is the best value going in Palo Alto.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank toddster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank PatrickUSA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 无聊的左手
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank María Consuelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
3.0 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £101 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing