We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and Nice”
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Simple and Nice”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Room was clean, beds and pillows were soft, breakfast was good and parking was free. Staff were very friendly and attentive during breakfast. I only have 2 complaints: the bed frame stuck out so walking in the dark to go to the bathroom is not recommended and the towel rack in the bathroom was broken. I liked that the toilet and bathtub were separate from the sink.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1DHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    126
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
117
57
25
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Zen Hotel is centrally located to everything! Shopping, Dining, Stanford, Downtown and Hwy. 280 & 101! Perfect place to use as your base while exploring the area. We reserved the Suite w/kitchenette. Had no idea that included a sofa bed, Lanai AND onsite laundry facilities (coin operated)! What a deal! While I never had any negative experiences with the staff or housekeeping, I can't join in on the rave reviews regarding service. What I loved, was that we were staying there for two weeks and we were left alone with virtually no interactions except housekeeping. I appreciated this. Some might not. I also felt that it appropriately reflected the value. It isn't the Four Seasons and we weren't staying for a few nights. Wish we would have known prior, but this is the best place to use as a base for bicycling! The trails are so close to here and you can hop on the 22 Bus out front that has bike racks to get into town or on campus with MORE bike trails! Try the Zen! You'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1388mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Make no mistake, the Zen Hotel is a converted motel/motor lodge like many along El Camino Real in the South Bay; and despite the limitations this places on owners, the ZH has done a wonderful job creating a very small island of quiet and tasteful decor. As many have commented, the breakfast is good though served in a very small room; the rooms are tastefully done yet small--watch your toes on the bases of the bed frames; and yes, El Camino is close by. And yet for us the shining light of the ZH was the staff: my wife and I made an on line booking ("no changes, no refunds")...of course our plans changed shortly thereafter; Ricardo, though he wasn't required to do anything, was kind and gracious to refund us the 3rd night we weren't to use with no hassles, no arguments--just helpfulness. Please try the Zen Hotel if you are in the area--it is excellent for the price and amenities expected; and do be careful to read the fine print on your online booking!!,

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Homepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Zen Hotel far exceeded our expectations in every way. The rooms were immaculate, spacious, well-decorated, and inviting. The beds were among the most comfortable we've experienced in any hotel (they were arguably better than our beds at home!), and the shower was first rate. One of our rooms had a small kitchenette (a very pleasant surprise!), and both had small balconies (one of which overlooked tranquil zen gardens with relaxing fountains). Wifi was exceptionally fast and consistent.

The staff were superlative. They were uniformly courteous and friendly, and they went above and beyond in all of our encounters (including specially cooking a breakfast item for my daughter when they ran out of that item at the very end of their breakfast service).

We couldn't have been happier with our hotel experience, and we look forward to staying at the Zen again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwesternTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We decided to stay at the Zen Hotel because of the great reviews and value. We booked a 2-queen bed standard room and got upgraded to a suite with a kitchen, a deep soaking tub with jets! and a rain shower head. The beds were very comfortable and free internet access was included. Every morning you get free breakfast consisting of scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoe wedges, hard boiled eggs, muffins, croissants, bagels, hot oatmeal with all the fixings, yogurt, fruit, cereal, apple juice, oj, Starbucks coffee, hot tea and hot coco. Great way to start your day. You also get freshly baked chocolate chip, oatmeal or white chocolate chip cookies every afternoon when you come back to the hotel, served in the lobby. If you think that is a great value, well, they also replenish two bottles of water everyday. Value is what you will get here but you will also get great friendly service! Our housekeeper did a superb job everyday! We would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back! Thank you Zen for making our trip a successful and memorable one!

Room Tip: We had room #306 which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiBound96813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,

This review is fantastic! Thank you very much for sharing your good experience with the Tripadvisor community in such detail; I could have not described our hotel's amenities better.

And yes, when you book directly with us, you qualify for complimentary upgrades when available. I am glad you enjoyed the upgraded room we were able to assign for your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of having you as a guest again in the near future.

Thank you again.

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The Zen is a great place to stay in this area. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room was the cleanest we have found so far on our trip. The room is well equipped and has a comfortable feel. Crisp white sheets in the bed and a spotless bathroom with a great shower. There is everything you need here for your stay. Good food is locally and a great shopping area nearby

Room Tip: Room 101 and 103 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We just spent a night at this hotel and loved it. We were three and took their two room suite with a living room and kitchenette. The rooms were all spacious and clean, quiet, comfortable, and the complimentary hot breakfast was excellent. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the location was convenient for everything in the Palo Alto area. Bill definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliazebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Property: The Zen Hotel
Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing