We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I spent three nights here on business, and other than a small snafu on check-in, which was quickly fixed, it was great.

I was given a room with two queens in the back part of the hotel by mistake, and while some people here have mentioned how much they like those rooms, I asked to move. It was dark and gloomy, and having two doors into the room, especially one from the back secluded garden, didn't feel especially secure. Had I not been traveling alone, I might have felt differently, but I much preferred the smaller room in the front right off the parking lot where there were people.

The beds are comfortable and the rooms well-appointed, and they have an amazing number of tv channels, if you want to spend time holed up watching the tube. Everything was spotlessly clean, and I appreciated having bottles of water in the room because they use a water softener, so the tap water is kind of funky to drink. The hot breakfast is nice and it was a little different every morning.

Most hotels have those little tags that tell you to hang your towels if you want to use them again, but when you do, they change them out anyway. That's not the case here. It's a little thing, but I was happy that weren't just giving lip service to water conservation.

Only one negative about the room -- the beds are on platforms and I stubbed my toes every time I walked around it. They're padded, but still, ouch.

The location is good, only a few minutes from campus and nice food and shopping. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. One other thing -- my ATT cell service was awful, and when I mentioned it to the front desk, they said it's a problem all over Palo Alto. Sure enough, I had trouble on campus too. Kind of ironic to be in the heart of one of the most technologically innovative places on the planet and not be able to make a reliable phone call.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julias21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience at The Zen Hotel. We really appreciate when a satisfied guest makes the effort to spread the word about what we are all about here at The Zen.

I am glad to learn you found your stay enjoyable and that when something did not go as planned, we found a quick and suitable solution for you.

Thank you for pointing out about our wide selection of in-room TV channels. We just finished this upgrade and it is wonderful to see that it is welcomed.

We look forward to your next visit to Palo Alto.

Best regards,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    125
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
114
57
25
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

So, somebody bought an old motel and turned it into this! The whole place has been painted refitted, restored, redone, replanted and It was so nicely done that I had to find the owner and complement them. The only worry I had was proximity to the street, but we slept just beautifully. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Reviving an older property can take many forms but few are as stylish or as successful as the transformation of a former motel to The Zen Hotel in Palo Alto. Conveniently located on El Camino Real just a few blocks from Stanford University, the Zen somehow manages not to have street noise and to offer a true oasis. The rooms are thoughtfully equipped; the complimentary breakfast goes beyond the usual "free" hotel fare; and the extra touches (cookies, tea, newspapers, apples) are all welcome. This was our second stay. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for recognizing our efforts to make you stay a truly enjoyable one. Although we kept the feel and charm of a motor hotel, we indeed offer an experience that is surrounded with amenities usually found only at upscale hotels. From our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and high end teas, to our bathrobes and slippers offered in all of our rooms; we take special care in making sure you get pampered while staying with us.

This is also a great opportunity to inform you that we recently upgraded our TV channel lineup. Our in-room TV programming now boasts 120 channels to choose from, 70 of which are in high definition! We look forward to your next visit and we hope you enjoy our latest upgrades.

See you next time,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

First, the room was clean and the decor pleasant. What was disturbing was that I paid over $200 for a room where I could hear my neighbour through the walls making a telephone call at night. Secondly, the cable TV was fuzzy for lack of a better word. The analog channels looked like they were being routed by an antenna. True they give you free bottled water, but it doesn' tmake up for the fact that they are trying to charge hotel rates for what is really a dressed up motel with thin walls.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leif0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad we were able to connect. It was my pleasure responding to your concerns directly and sharing the exciting enhancements we have coming around the corner that will take our in-room TV experience to the next level and provide a great, brand new HD selection of programming.

We were very pleased to welcome you again for you extended stay reservation. I hope you are enjoying your stay.

Best regards,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

It's not often I feel that a room is clean enough to walk around barefooted, but this room felt that clean! The price is good, it feels safe. They have attempted to make it feel Asian/Zen feeling, and although not an expert on Zen, it did feel calm and tranquil. I needed my a/c fan on to mute out closing car doors, sirens, etc, but overall a quiet stay. It's a converted motor court, so you can park about 15 feet from your door. The breakfast is fairly good. Nothing special but they do have scrambled eggs and oatmeal. Be careful when walking around the bed because the wood at the bottom sticks out. Thankfully there is padding so you don't get bruised. No complaints! Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 108 is in a corner and quieter than others, however it's a handicap accessible room and mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I work at a university in North Carolina, and every Spring Break we take a group of students in entrepreneurship education to tour start-ups in Silicon Valley. We have stayed at The Zen Hotel two years in a row for these trips and have had a wonderful experience both times. Even before I arrive, I know that I can contact Ricardo with any questions I have about the area. He has helped me navigate the public transportation system to San Francisco, as well as recommended shuttle services. He is in regular contact with me until our group arrives, which is very comforting because I always know things are taken care of at the Zen. That's one less thing to worry about when I'm worrying about a million others! Ricardo goes above and beyond his job at the Zen to ensure we have a fantastic trip.

Our group is always impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms and the nice little touches around the hotel. We rent the suite for group meetings and lunches. The back patio off of the room is a favorite among the students, and always gets our trip off to a nice start when we have lunch there. The rooms are private, which enables staff and faculty to have a little quiet time after spending 13 hour days with the group. The rooms are a large size, and the updated features (marble countertops, room decor) give it a modern touch. The continental breakfast is very yummy. The Zen provides a variety of breakfast items everyday, including fresh fruit and coffee which were popular items for us to take on-the-go. Perhaps the best evidence of this is the fact that college students actually woke up for the breakfast at 7 AM:) I saw every student there each morning.

You can tell the staff at the Zen takes a lot of pride in their hotel. The customer service always exceeds my expectations--we've never had a problem checking-in or checking-out as a group of 17. We will continue to stay at the Zen for many years to come!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I was in zen hotel for 14 days.what can I say? Only good words. It is quiet, very clean, nice breakfast, friendly stuff. They made me feel like home, especially Ryan which made a lot of efforts to help me with some problem I had. The location is near Stanford university.

Room Tip: Try to ask a room on ground floor facing the small garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momooIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Property: The Zen Hotel
Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing