We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel really understands what modern travellers want”
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

From the outside this place looks like a 1950s motel that has been done up. But once inside it is obvious that the people behind the Zen have a good appreciation of what's important.

Fast wireless (around 20mb/s), great beds, reminiscent of the Westin's 'Heavenly' mattress, and a shower with lots of pressure.

There were other nice touches as well, such as the nicely landscaped garden sitting area out the back door of the unit and a good array of coffee, complimentary chocolates and quality linen.

Best accommodation of our trip so far!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have access to 'Zen Garden'
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review with the Tripadvisor community. I am very glad to learn that our team's efforts to cater to the modern traveler did not go unnoticed. We firmly believe that truly high speed WiFi is a hotel amenity that is now comparable to offering AM/FM radio. It is a must, and we are proud to offer it at no additional cost to all our guests.

Thank you also for your comments about the comfort of our mattresses and the little things we do to personalize your stay. We are a small hotel and we care about every single one of our guests. Rest assured that our team is is continuously inspired by the concept of true hospitality and feedback such as yours is what keeps us going.

All the best and we look forward to a new opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for The Zen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Normally I would never stay at hotel like this or even remotely like it. While this is a "no frills" hotel and it is Motel style, it is actually a fantastic place to stay. The rooms are very nicely done with nice, modern decor and well sized. Great linens and toiletries with super comfortable beds, great linens and you even get bathrobes. I was nervous about staying in a motel style, but felt very safe and heard no street noise whatsoever. The staff was very friendly and they also offer a great breakfast and free WiFi.

The hotel fitness room is in deperate need of an update, and there are no ameneties; however for the rate you pay, this is a great hotel to stay at if you are here on business for just a few nights. There is also a Walgreens across the street and lots of places to eat if you need food. I manage an office in Mountain View just a few miles away and this will be my new "go to" hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the courtyard
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this Palo Alto hotel near Stanford. Nothing is over the top, but everything is done simply and to a high standard. The rooms are clean and functional. The breakfast is simply but satisfying. The hotel is conveniently located to a few nice restaurants within walking distance and a Walgreens in case you've forgotten something.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 850,125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were getting married in San Jose, CA in July 2013 and needed a hotel close to family in Palo Alto. We needed from what i remember 10-15 rooms. Zen Hotel was right down the street and we are so glad we chose it!

We had a large group of rooms so i called the hotel to set up a block of rooms and room rates. Spoke with Ricardo, General Manager, very professional, very prompt in his responses, very easy to work with and phone and email communication were excellent. Pretty much everything you hope for! I'd like to add not just Ricardo but everyone else at the front desk we dealt with was the exact same.

Rates were very comparable. Our family and us were very happy with the rates we got. We even rented the two largest suites they had at a good price.

The rooms were great, clean, newly remolded, very nice.

They even had a little back patio garden area. It's very pretty and well maintained and worked perfectly for some of our wedding photos.

Overall, I had ZERO complaints from any of our bridal party, family or friends regarding their stay here and nothing but good things were said about their stay. Such an awesome thing for us since it is such a hectic time for us already having to plan a wedding.

Much appreciate everything from the Zen. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone that needs to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chowdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for such a generous, thoughtful and detailed review. It was my pleasure to personally assist you with your group booking and be of assistance during your wedding planning. Thank you also for your recent direct email with even more kind words.

You are right about our team. Our commitment to customer service is consistent among all The Zen staff, and I am very glad this remained true for you, your bride and the rest of your wedding party.

I also need to say that I appreciate you giving us an opportunity your hotel of choice hosting your friends and family in such as special occasion. It was our pleasure.

All the best,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I was in Palo Alto for business and only stayed for one night. Sadly! The Zen was really a gem. Like others have said, it's really more like a motel than hotel but the difference in what those two words mean is not applicable. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the room was spacious well appointed (coffee maker, microwave, fridge, 2 FREE bottles of water). My rate included breakfast, which was a notch up from the standard hotel fare both in terms of food and ambiance. I had a room on the inner courtyard which protected me from any noise coming off of El Camino.
This is will be my first pick for my next trip to Palo Alto. Thanks, Zen!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A2Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and such a great review score. I am very glad that your first impression of The Zen Hotel was a good one. Your review is particularly satisfying coming from a senior contributor within the Tripadvisor community.

We will continue to make sure we remain one of the best-valued hotels in Palo Alto. This combined with our team's eagerness to excel in customer service should provide you with yet another great experience on your next stay with us.

Best regards and safe travels,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel appears to be a motel plus a converted apartment complex. We stayed in the converted apartment complex. The room was pretty large (the largest of our 3 week trip), but it had some oddities. Like a back door that exited on El Camino Way. We didn't have any serious complaints, but there was something a bit off-center about this hotel. It wasn't as Zen as you might expect.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at The Zen Hotel. We sincerely appreciate the generous score you provided us.

Upon reading your comments, it seems that we fell a little short in delivering the best possible experience for your stay. I am very interested in learning more about what we could fine tune in order to deserve a five out of five on your next visit. I can be reached via email at ricardo@thezenhotel.com for additional comments you can provide us.

Thank you again for choosing The Zen Hotel. I look forward to your additional feedback and to a new opportunity to welcome you again as our guest.

Best regards,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is an adequate motel - not a hotel. The "mall" in the illustration is the parking lot. Rooms are modest to small size. Rooms on El Camino Real are noisier than those on other side of parking lot. The bed was comfortable. The "fully equipped fitness center" is a small room with a tread mill, stair stepper and free weights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Myself along with the rest of The Zen staff share our disappointment after learning we did not meet your expectations 100%. We are very sorry for that, as our goal is to make things right even if for any reason your experience doesn't begin the best possible way.

We conserve indeed the architectural nature of a motor hotel. Besides our full guestrooms renovation that was completed in 2010, we continue to add hotel-specific amenities such as slippers, bathrobes, hot breakfast buffet, complimentary water and laptop-size safes among many other services; in efforts to ensure our guests' experience is shaped with a blend of high-end amenities, personalized customer service and an affordable price.

I am glad to inform you that our exercise room is one area that is in our plans for renovation in the short term future. I look forward to sharing more details once we are ready to move forward. Thank you also for your good comments about the comfort of our pillow-top beds.

One more time, I'd like to express my deepest appreciation for your feedback. I look forward to a new opportunity to welcome you to our hotel, and to be able to deliver a new, much more enhanced experience.

Best regards,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
622 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £97 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing