We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Zen or Not to Zen - Depends on What You Need”
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Perfectly fine place for one, maybe two nights max. Decor was nice looking on entry but detailed review noted ripped furniture cushion and backward shower faucet. Otherwise the lame beds will make your back ache. This is not the place to stay if you like somewhat firm mattresses. Lumpy and concave is how I would describe it.

Room Tip: Ask for a firm matress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. As I read your comments, I am very sorry to learn our pillow-top mattresses were not as firm as you would have preferred. I would like for you to be aware that we are currently exploring the possibility of having available alternatives for guests that prefer a firm mattress.

Thank you for positive feedback on our room decor and for pointing out the presence of a ripped cushion. We were able to find it and replace it as soon as we received your review.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we always welcome any comments, good or bad, as we feel they help us fine tune our operations to better serve our guests in the future. Should your travels bring you back to Palo Alto I hope that you give us another chance to welcome you.

Thank you and safe travels,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is a solid, affordable choice for Palo Alto. While it does seem expensive compared to other cities, I think it is a steal for the area, where even brands like Sheraton and Hilton are astronomically priced. The exterior is motel-like but the rooms have been totally redone. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is DirecTV in the rooms and other amenities you would expect at 3+ star hotels (e.g., robes, nice coffee in rooms, etc). The walls do seem sort of thin - you could hear a lot and I wasn't even on the street - but that didn't bother me a ton. You also should definitely plan to have a car if you stay here, as it isn't within walking distance of all that much and is a few miles from Stanford/downtown Palo Alto. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corklevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights recently and found it completely satisfying. I stopped by on a previous visit to check out the hotel. The man in the office was very gracious and showed me a room that met my needs. (I wanted to be in a quiet area on the ground floor with easy parking.)

I made a reservation for room 110 and enjoyed my stay. The decor in my room was very 'Zen' - I especially appreciated the toiletries and the lamp at the desk that had a base with plugs for phones, camera battery chargers and the iPad charger. The room wasn't huge but certainly large enough for two people. The chair and ottoman in the corner was an added bonus.

Breakfast was extensive - they had bagels, muffins, cold cereal in one room and another room had eggs and hot food. I grabbed muffins and coffee (coffee is available all day) as I had places to go. In the afternoon they had fresh-baked cookies in the office!

I would say that the price for this motel was very competitive. I searched TripAdvisor for hotels in this area and found the Zen to be VERY reasonable. After driving by some of the other hotels, I was very glad that I chose the Zen Hotel - it was a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATerrapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting these wonderful comments about your stay. We appreciate the time and detail that was put in your review about our hotel. As a “Top Contributor” on Tripadvisor, your perspective is unique and we are very glad to have made a good impression among the many other hotels you have experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Zen Hotel!

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL
(650) 493-4492 X 311

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have never been to Palo Alto before and maybe things are just more expensive here. The hotel rate I got was the same as the Grant Hyatt in San Francisco, and higher than Marriott at the Union Square. I had expected something comparable to those two hotels I mentioned.

I was shocked when I saw the motel like exterior. The check-in desk and the breakfast area also looked kind of shabby at night when we arrived. We got room 302 and it was away from the street noise and pretty quiet at night. The room was clean and Asian/Zen inspired decoration. But the room still looked dated with the cream color wall paper and giant A/C unit. The A/C unit was very loud when it was on. The room was either cold (when the A/C was on) or stuffy (when the A/C was off).

Breakfast was pleasant. They had a good selection of good tea, which was very nice.

I don't know what to expect for this area. Maybe this is a nice enough hotel based on what I paid. But I would choose a different hotel the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReviewDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Although we work hard to offer great value among the available lodging options in Palo Alto, we understand we did not meet your price-product expectations and we are very sorry to learn that. Among the value-added amenities we offer, we believe that our complimentary hot breakfast, Internet, parking and upgraded room amenities such as bathrobes, free bottled water, lip balm, etc. can be differentials that result in great value as compared to nearby hotels. However, your feedback is important for us to continue evaluating our operations and fine tune areas that present an opportunity for improvement.

Thank you for your comments about our breakfast. I am glad you were able to enjoy our selection of Mighty Leaf organic teas.

Your comments are much appreciated. We hope you consider our hotel as an option again when your travels bring you back to Palo Alto.

Best regards,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL
650-493-4492 X 311

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

the bath pipes and showers are behind paper thin walls and my bed was next to the bathroom wall, so every night around 1 am and then around 5 am the neighboring rooms started running loud, clattering, long showers, about an hour each... so much for the bad water pressure, that is supposed to help with the drought, people just don't care and want the shampoo out of their hair, also the wifi in my room, which was supposed to be free and strong, was totally unusable,the front desk people couldn't answer any questions about the area,and did not try either

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at The Zen Hotel. I am very sorry to learn that we failed in providing you with a comfortable and restful stay. Please rest assured that the issue you experienced with poor water pressure is an anomaly that will be investigated and corrected by our maintenance department. I am sorry it happened in the room you occupied. I was disappointed as well to see that our Wi-Fi did not work as it is supposed to, especially since we have recently doubled our bandwidth and we have received great comments about our speeds. We understand that fast and reliable Internet connectivity is essential to all our guests. This issue will be followed up and corrected as well.
I would be grateful if you could share the specifics of the information you requested from our Front Desk staff. I did not recognize our commitment to use a YES attitude when approaching all our guests’ questions, and I am very interested in learning first-hand the particulars of your interaction with our staff. If you have time, I can be reached via phone at 650-493-4492 ext 311, or via email to ricardo@thezenhotel.com Thank you again for your candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is filled with restful, Zen-like simplicity and follows "green" practices. Comfortable, clean, attractive rooms. Cookies in the afternoon, green tea in your room (& coffee if you must), and a nice variety of food for a buffet breakfast, including fresh fruit and yogurt, as well as the usual eggs and pork. We stay here several times a year and it is always a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricberr, Front Office Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all of your positive feedback on your experiences at The Zen Hotel. Thank you for noticing our green practices and small touches that we think set us apart from many of the larger hotels in the area. I am very pleased to see that you always enjoy your stay with us, and I hope that all of your future visits continue to meet or exceed expectations.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel.

Best Regards,

Ryan Aldridge
Front Office Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Zen Hotel in Palo Alto is great for a short stay if you are on business trip. It is conveniently located, has ample parking and the service is friendly. The rooms are small, but clean, comfortable and recently renovated. Everything seems to be new and more-or-less good quality. They also claim that they are green. That is, they don't seem to abuse the nature in any way. It really deserves at least 3 1/2 - 4 star rating, but it is a fancy road-side motel (former) and the cost is too high for what you get. That said, definitely go stay there if you can expense it.

Room Tip: The rooms probably are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JarvNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
3.1 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £101 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing