We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and wonderful staff”
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
northern california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 1 April 2010

As a frequent guest of the Zen Hotel, formerly the Townhouse Inn, I've had the pleasure of getting to know many of the staff and have always found them to be very accomodating to their guests' needs. I find it very hard to believe that the hotel manager was rude and yelling at any guest. I've never witnessed any inappropriate behavior on his part. Ina always has a smile and warm greeting when checking you in and has always responded to any request I have made, always in a courteous manner.
As far as the rooms, they have recently been renovated and are very nice. They definitely needed some redo, and they have done a beautiful job. It's still a work in progress, but is coming along quite nicely I have always found the rooms to be very clean, which is one of the main reasons I have been a guest here for the last several years. If a guest doesn't feel they have enough towels, all they have to do is ask the front desk for more. They are more than willing to supply you with more. I have asked and never been denied. My only complaint are the new beds, which are a bit too soft for me. But many like them that way, and I am getting used to them. However they're not so bad that they'll keep me away. I will continue to patronize the Zen Hotel for many years to come. Keep up the good work Ina and staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missvolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    126
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
118
57
25
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We booked a two night stay at this inn. While everything seemed all right when we checked in, a few hours later when we came back to the hotel the manager/owner became mean, rude and downright nasty.
The management has no respect for it's customers, refused to provide additional keys to your room when your room key didn't work. Refused to bring additional towels to the room when they provide you with one bathtowel and one hand towel. Refused to address the fact that the countertop of your kitchen area is peeling off.
I was downright disgusted with the way they treat their paying customers. So much so that while the manager was yelling at me another couple pulled into the parking lot to check in and after trying to talk to the guy for 2 min. got in their car and drove off.
There are plenty on nice places in palo alto to stay, why subject yourself to a mean spirited, abominable service and nasty management. Take your business elsewhere !!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skikrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelerfrommd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

The hotel was generally clean and well lit, but not much to brag about otherwise. On general notes, the bed was moderate to poor and the furniture was definately dated. But it is clean and in a good location.

On a particular note, I do not recall my room number, but the hotel is shaped like a U, and I got a room in the northwest corner. This room is actually in a "covered alley" and therefor is has almost no natural light. The only window that got light was on an exterior wall and was both high up and small, and facing an appartment building and tree cover. It was depressing to be in it, so I stayed out as late as possible before returning for bed.

Staff was friendly, though not particularly helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelerfrommd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

Stayed in this hotel for a week, following the recommendation of an acquaintance. Rooms furnished with dated furniture are very clean and staff very friendly. Breakfast, to be eaten in the small lobby or preferably taken to the room, includes Costco baked goods - croissants, muffins and bagels, various kinds of juices and yogurts, fresh fruits, hot and cold cereal, hot beverage. I stayed in a room that has a kitchenette and was equipped with enough cookware to do some decent cooking to leave for my student to eat for a while after I returned home.
Free internet in the rooms and a free computer for guests' use in the lobby.
Free parking.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank trvl2lv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

I've been to Palo Alto many times and this was a short notice trip where my other usual choices were all unavailable - including the Holiday Inn Express on El Camino and the Marriott Courtyard. So I went out on a limb choosing this place due to its location and price.

At first when I pulled up, I didn't think I was going to enjoy it b/c it was on a busy intersection and the outside looks somewhat quaint and something you would find during the Robinhood days.

But after a few days there, it became comfortable and very convenient to Stanford, Menlo Park, Mountain View, Silicon Valley, Stanford Shopping Center and of course around town in Palo Alto.

The rooms are clean. Traditional motel furnishings. Lamp that didn't work, but housekeeping took care of that right away.

I asked for two double beds and got two full size instead of queen size beds. So it was tight with two people on one bed. Beds are firm. Somewhat lumpy, but you got used to that.

Vanity is outside "bathroom" which had toilet and shower.

Bathroom is clean, Tub is deep b/c it is a shower, tub, jacuzzi in one. Didn't try the jacuzzi function.

Breakfast is: variety of muffins, cereal, oatmeal, Sunny Delight, Juice boxes, apples, oranges, apple sauce, hard bagels and not so tasty croissants.

Toiletries - shampoo/conditioner combo, shower cap, small bars of soap.

Nice free wireless internet! Fast connection.

Overall - good value to save some money and enjoy the town. Not for honeymoon or any romantic getaways.

Variety of room setups. Try to get a room away from El Camino Real.

Cleaning ladies were extremely nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — needs new furnishings
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CrossCountryDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

The Townhouse Inn offers well-priced motel-style accomodation in an area where there are few bargains to be had. Both rooms I had were clean and well-equiped (didn't get chance to use the TV much, though, so can't say much about the choice of channels.) The included wi-fi was fast and the choice in the (also included) cold buffet breakfast was also good. Staff were very helpful too.

However, there is one drawback which is that the motel is on a busy intersection, and many of the rooms back on to El Camino Real, the busier of the two intersecting roads. (I had to move rooms after my first night, I was woken up by a police car despite using earplugs). If like me, you find traffic noise a problem, then you needs to make sure you get a room that is well away from both roads.

  • Liked — The room itself
  • Disliked — Ther road noise
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DavidBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

In a town where ridiculous hotel prices (particularly during the work week) seem to rule the roost, the Townhouse Inn is a refreshing change.

I've stayed here a half-dozen times when in town for business, and each time, I get a clean, quiet room that ensures I'm refreshed the next day. The hotel also offers a complimentary light breakfast. I imagine the hotel's easy proximity to high tech companies, as well as Stanford, would greatly benefit out-of-towners who are on a limited budget.

I'm probably running a risk writing this review in that people will take this seriously, and I will not be able to get the last-minute reservation I always seem to get when I need an inexpensive room with great service from Ina and his crew. Still, they deserve it, and after several stays, I am quite convinced the Townhouse Inn is the best value going in Palo Alto.

  • Liked — Cleanliness; quiet (despite proximity to El Camino Real); great value.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank toddster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
602 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Property: The Zen Hotel
Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing