We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Asian Box

Asian Box
Ranked #89 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I was attracted by the good aroma to this restaurant. There is a simple menu in which guests have the option to choose a carbohydrate, a meat, a source and a topping to tailor-make their own meal - a pretty neat idea. I chose brown rice, beaf, peanut source and bean sprouts. The staff was friendly and the turnaround time was quick. While the ingredients were fresh and the sauce was delicious. The brown rice was cold and not well cooked. The beef was also very tough. I was hoping to have a nice warm dinner and ended with a pretty disappointed experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GOAL_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Asian Chipotle-type Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Fast and tasty, Asian Box is great for a quick meal. I love the variety of ingredient options you get that you can make a variety of different compilations. I had the lamb meatball and coconut curry special with rice noodles, all the toppings, and the vinagrette sauce. It was really good; tasted like Vietnamese/fusion food. The portions weren't small but they weren't big either. The price was reasonable. I wish they opened in more locations!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great For a Quick, Healthy Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

It's exactly what it sounds like, asian food served to go in a box! They do use very fresh ingredients,and the food is more healthy than other offerings in Town and Country. They also get food out quick, so it's perfect if you have a tight lunch schedule.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanceFaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My teenager loves it and now I know why!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Truly excellent food for a great price. $7.95 gets you a selection of several different starts (rice, noodles or veges, and NO 75cent charge for brown rice!), 5 different meats (the 6-spices Chicken is perfect), sauces (I tried and loved the spicy and a bit sweet Miss Jones Sriracha sauce) and then toppings. I got the "works" which had crispy onions, peanuts, fresh sprouts and carrots, some pickled cucumber, jalepenos and then lots of wok fried veges. This "fast food" place is located right across the street from Palo Alto High School so I think it gets mobbed at lunch, but at off hours, they were fast, and nice and I loved the food. My son has talked about it for months, now that I've tried it I will make an effort to go by for lunch (but not during 11:30-12:15) or take-out dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rubylaserjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love, love, love Asian Box!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Asian Box is basically an Asian version of Chipotle. You choose your rice or noodles, your protein, your toppings, wait 5-10 minutes and a delicious box comes out. Awesome. Bonus: everything at Asian Box is GLUTEN FREE! This place is great for Asian, GF, health conscious, and those simply seeking good quality fast food. We've been to the one in Palo Alto and were just in the one in Mt. View on Castro. YUM!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cac258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asian Box also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Asian Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing