We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Asian food”
Review of Asian Box

Asian Box
Ranked #93 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Asian food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I was looking for something different and healthy while walking around Town & Country mall in Palo Alto. Watched the people behind the counter preparing and boxing the food. It looked healthy and tasty. I loved mine a bit spicy.

I recommend sitting outside under the oak tree in late afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamshidV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fast food that makes you feel good about fast food”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Asian box serves a take on Vietnamese street food, and does so very well. Ou start by picking a base -- rice, noodles, or salad (what I usually do) -- add a protein (I like the curried tofu and the shrimp), pick. Vegetable version (we do wok fried, but there's also steamed), then pick "toppers," which you can do ala carte or just as for them all, and then pick a sauce (my favorite is the Asian street dust, but friends swear by the tamarind). It's fast, easy, seems to be healthy, and is good and filling without being overwhelming. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. And I've done catering for classes, where it works really well. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sofiastayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
1 review
“Quick and good”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Delicious healthy food at a great price. Love the crispy scallions and peanut sauce with the large shrimp.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick and to the point”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Quick and healthy, just the right choice when you dont want a sandwich for lunch. I really like the caramel egg extra - worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eladm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I was attracted by the good aroma to this restaurant. There is a simple menu in which guests have the option to choose a carbohydrate, a meat, a source and a topping to tailor-make their own meal - a pretty neat idea. I chose brown rice, beaf, peanut source and bean sprouts. The staff was friendly and the turnaround time was quick. While the ingredients were fresh and the sauce was delicious. The brown rice was cold and not well cooked. The beef was also very tough. I was hoping to have a nice warm dinner and ended with a pretty disappointed experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GOAL_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asian Box also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Asian Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing