We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The room at this place is ok, nothing fancy, just a place to sleep. However, when it comes to service, expect the worse from the managers. They are clearly not human, just troll that just came out from under a rock or sewage waste plants some where. My son was getting brain surgeries (two separate procedures) at Stanford. We are from Los Angeles, too far to travel between dates, so I booked a range of date 7/11 to 7/31 at this place. Man do I regret it!!

On the surgery date, they conveniently kick me out of my room so they can get a higher price booking (I found out later that there was a tennis tournament at Stanford). They are absolutely heartless to have done what they did without feeling any remorse. Basically right now, my wife and I are homeless while during my son's surgery.

The worker at this facility are nice, hard working people..I am not posting this review of their services. However, I only choice 4 letter words for the management. They are not human, heartless animals to have done what they did. I hope everybody reads this review and avoid this place like a plague. They do not deserve your patronage!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank QDT91304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvipaloalto, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

We understand that this must be a very emotional time for you. Having been a partner with the surrounding hospitals for over 15 years, we pride ourselves on providing a stress-free stay. From our investigation, it appears that you adjusted your stay upon check-in due to another housing option provided by the hospital. Thus, your stay was shortened as you requested, and the room was made available for another guest to reserve. The hospital housing dept also confirmed that you were placed elsewhere upon departure. At no time would we "kick" a hospital guest out to get a higher rate, and the hospital staff can also attest to this reputation. Moving forward however, a hospital guest may now only adjust the duration of their stay through the hospital housing dept and not our front desk. We feel this will prevent any future misunderstandings, especially during such a stressful time already. Thank you for your feedback, and we wish your son a very speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We needed a place to stay after the June 30 pro soccer game at Stanford (great game and fireworks show!). We booked at the last minute and found this relatively affordable motel located at the south end of Palo Alto, on El Camino Real. Our room was nicely furnished (including a small fridge) and the place was immaculately clean. The lady at the front desk was pleasant and well organized. Although located along a main drag, our room was quiet. I would recommend booking a room like ours, at the back of the motel away from the street, if possible. An excellent restaurant for breakfast - Hobees - was located almost next door. This made up for the only shortcoming I noted in this motel, the advertised "continental breakfast" seemed to be 2 packaged "pastries", 2 small bottles of orange juice and a coffee maker for making coffee. (The room was booked for 3.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centralcoastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

No frills, clean place to sleep. Had to find a hotel for an unexpected overnight last minute trip. Only hotel close to Stanford with a vacancy. Older hotel single level noisy a/c and refrigerator.

Room Tip: No Pool,or fitness center, tight small parking lot. Rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattoou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were put in room 100 right next to the managers office, even though we arrived at 3 p.m. before the motel even began to fill up and requested a quiet room. We went to bed at 10p.m. But were unable to sleep until 11 p.m. because every time some one went into the managers office, there was an obnoxious alert bell that rang to alert him. We heard it, too. Loud and clear. The last one was at 11 p.m. Then the alarm clock in the room, which we hadn't touched, went off at midnight!
The last straw was the continental breakfast: 2 cellophane wrapped fat-filled cheap pastries. If you want to sleep, this is NOT the place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in Room 100, right next to the managers office!!! It is noisy and you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moosekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvipaloalto, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your doing so. We use your comments to further train our staff and to evaluate our Inn and make necessary changes. Please note that we do discount this room for being close to office, and in a busier section of our Inn. That being said, additional measures have been incorporated to improve the noise level in this specific room. We are also sorry that you did not appreciate our complimentary in-room SvenHard pastries. Management has begun to research alternative options to better serve a wider range of our guests. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights and was very pleased. It's an older building in the traditional design but it is clean and well maintained. Room had fresh carpet and was very clean. Beds were comfortable--you would never confuse this place for a Marriott, but it costs a fraction of the other hotels nearby. TV was older 19" model, but I don't watch TV. Wireless internet was fast and free.

Towels and free toiletries were budget motel grade, but they had real Kleenex. Shower head and plumbing was excellent and new.

There is a fridge and coffee maker in the room--the coffee is just so-so and the danish and orange juice is nothing special, but for the price I couldn't complain. The street noise is not intrusive. The fridge and heater/air conditioner unit make the usual racket but I sleep with ear plugs so it didn't bother me.

Overall, I was very pleased. There was no evidence of bugs or any other vermin--the housekeeping was very good. There are restaurants nearby and a Safeway a couple of miles north. Stay here and save money!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandPrixPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We recently stayed here and had no problems at all, no bugs!! We had a friend at the Stanford hospital and weren't sure when we would leave. The owner told us we had a room as long as we needed it. We thought this was a nice gesture and we appreciated not having to worry about finding a new place. Stanford area was very busy as there was a big football game coming up and motels were filling up. It is within easy walking distance to several restaurants which we liked. You can't beat the price and our room was very clean with a microwave, small refrigerator and coffee maker. The breakfast roll is what it is, we went next door and had pancakes!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

On busy El Camino Real. But it's pretty far away enough to avoid any major traffic near Mountain View. If you need to travel east side of 85, do not stay here. The traffic where El Camino Real and 85 meet is a 2MPH hell traffic jam around 6:30ish in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtmostCreativeMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Nest Palo Alto
The Nest Palo Alto
#17 of 27 in Palo Alto
62 reviews
1 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
2 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#25 of 27 in Palo Alto
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto

Address: 4234 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4404
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range: £75 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Palo Alto hotel is 100 percent smoke-free. Business travelers and family vacationers alike are sure to find our spacious accommodations, attentive service, and ample amenities to their liking. Each of our guest rooms features free wireless and high-speed wired Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, iron, ironing board, clock radio, free local calls, and wake-up service. Complimentary tea, coffee, packaged danish, orange juice, and bottled water are also in every guest room. Children 11 years of age and under stay free in parent's room with existing bedding. Sorry, no pets allowed. At Americas Best Value Inn Sky Ranch, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing