We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room but very clean, very affordable, and fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic room but very clean, very affordable, and fantastic location!”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The king room was basic but very clean and well-kept. Bathroom very clean and appeared quite newly remodeled. Fantastic location in Palo Alto - close to everything near Stanford. Very quiet rooms although it is on El Camino Real. Extremely well-priced accomodations for this area. Friendly staff. Coffee maker in room was great. My only recommendation is that they substitute better breakfast fare such as real muffins and perhaps a piece of fruit (apple or banana), versus the packaged inexpensive pastries.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    28
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
9
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Porterville, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stay here each time we have medical appointments at the Stanford Hospital. It's a good value, in a good location, and it's consistently well-maintained and ALWAYS fresh and clean. The managers obviously stay on top of things here, with everything in the room working as it should. I wish all hotels in this price range were as sparkly clean as this one.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avocadolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

The price is extremely good, and the room is very clean, so you can't beat this deal. It's a very good place, and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay in the area. It's a really good value.

  • Liked — Really good value
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fcbmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, Californua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

I had to travel to Stanford Medical for a consultation (a stressful time). We were very pleasantly surprised to find this place to stay. This establishment is clean, quiet and comfortable; the owner is is a pleasant and accomodating individual. Rates are very economical especially considering the Bay Area and the quality of the rooms. Would stay there again, definitely recommended!

  • Liked — Vakue, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stanfordpatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

My husband needed a last-minute hotel in Palo Alto fairly close to Stanford University, and everything was either booked or over $250 a night. I found this motel online and took a chance. He got a room with a king bed for $80 a night, and I joined him for the second night. The first thing I noticed was that the grounds were well-kept. It's basically an old-fashioned motor court, but they've planted some flowering bushes. The room was quiet and comfortable. The bed wasn't the best, but it was comfortable enough. The room included a small fridge, a microwave, and a coffee maker that grinds the beans they provide--a nice touch. The bathroom was small but very clean. That was what struck me most--everything appeared to be very clean. When I got up the next morning, I noticed that the parking lot was full, but I hadn't heard any noise during the night. Just steps away from the motel is a Hobee's restaurant, where we had a very good breakfast. As motels go, I'd say that this one is well-managed and well-cared-for. I'm a real fuss-budget about my hotels, so this is high praise coming from me. If you need something inexpensive, very clean, and safe, Sky Ranch is a good choice.

  • Liked — It was very clean
  • Disliked — It was very basic
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PGdenizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#21 of 27 in Palo Alto
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain View
Americas Best Value Inn Mountain...
#18 of 18 in Mountain View
53 reviews
5.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#24 of 33 in Sunnyvale
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
Address: 4234 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Palo Alto hotel is 100 percent smoke-free. Business travelers and family vacationers alike are sure to find our spacious accommodations, attentive service, and ample amenities to their liking. Each of our guest rooms features free wireless and high-speed wired Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, iron, ironing board, clock radio, free local calls, and wake-up service. Complimentary tea, coffee, packaged danish, orange juice, and bottled water are also in every guest room. Children 11 years of age and under stay free in parent's room with existing bedding. Sorry, no pets allowed. At Americas Best Value Inn Sky Ranch, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing