We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive service, delicious sophisticated treats, French tea”
Review of Chantal Guillon

Chantal Guillon
Ranked #19 of 20 Dessert in Palo Alto
Restaurant details
California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Attentive service, delicious sophisticated treats, French tea”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to sit, all white interior. The servers really care about the macarons they make. Try poppy lavender or red velvet. Tea is Mariage Freres, best French tea. They also have Bacci! Ask for pine nut one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Okay macaroons.”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I used to think their macaroons were really good. But a trip to Paris changed that. Chantal's macaroons are too wet and too dense. It's also too sweet. I still stop by once in a while when I have a craving for macaroons. Of all the macaroons that they have, I think the green tea ones are the least sweet ones, so I go for those now. Until I visit Paris again, these macaroons will just have to do for now. Great service though. And the shop is cute.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MustLoveTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK macroons and Mariage Frères tea”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I was surprised to hear that there was a new macaroon place in the South Bay, and was excited to try them. I received a box of six different macaroons from Chantal Guillon in Palo Alto as a gift. They were in a little gift box and quite pretty. I think it contained pistachio, almond, chocolate, salted caramel, rose, and red velvet. My boyfriend and I split each one in half and tried them. We both thought the salted caramel was the best, my bf is a big fan of this flavor but I am not so it was a bit surprising that this was my preference out of the box. However, overall, many of the macaroons, while OK, were not very memorable, although we were able to guess the flavors of each one which is a good sign. Some were a bit too sweet for our taste, some a bit muted in flavor, and some were kind of gritty on the outside. I should say that the macaroons were a day old when we tasted them so this may have affected their taste. I do not think, however, that they are any comparison from those we've had in Paris, such as at Ladurée. However, I am excited because I heard they sell some of the teas from Mariage Frères, which are difficult to find in the U.S. I was also told they have something called bacetti which is a handmade gelato ice cream bite dipped in chocolate, which sounds interesting. Overall, I definitely plan to visit to try some of the other flavors (my bf wants more of the salted caramel and I would like to try the lavender and some of the fruit flavors) and to buy some tea.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JT33Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding Macaroons”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The best macaroons I have ever had. Very classy. Delicate flavor. NOT sugary though sweet. The filling inside of lemon or passion fruit in those flavors is very delicious. Tried pista and Almonds too. Outstanding! Must visit. $1.80 a piece and 100 calories. Um Um Um!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jogijogi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chantal Guillon also viewed

 

Been to Chantal Guillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing