We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same anymore”
Review of Fuki-Sushi

Fuki-Sushi
Ranked #40 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Charleston
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Not the same anymore”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Likes some of the other reviewers, I have never failed to visit Fuki-Sushi whenever I come to the Bay Area in the past 20+ years, and have always enjoyed the authenticity of the food and service here. But I was a little disappointed this time as compared to my last dining experience here nearly 7 years ago.

The sukiyaki beef slices were not as tender as it used to be, though it was still better than my other experience in San Francisco this trip. No raw egg also.

The Unagi Avocado Roll has so much avocado outside that it nearly kiiled the taste of the Unagi wrapped inside the rice. The sashimi were very fresh as usual but very pricey for 2 pieces of Toro and the Sashimi Moriawase set.

The restaurant seems to have expanded with a much bigger dining area. I used to remember the elderly Japanese owner who dressed in kimono greeting you as you entered the restaurant, but she isn't there this time and was told her daughter took over instead. The service is so so nowaday so perhaps it is time for me to move on to other places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    22
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Fuki Sushi was one of my favorite sushi places and I’ve been coming here for almost twenty years. But the service and quality of the food I had this week was shockingly bad. I sat at the sushi bar and was served snapper with scales still on the fish, a scallop hand roll full of mayonnaise (as in, mostly mayo), gristly Hamachi. Just everything was terrible, but that paled in comparison to the surly service. I felt as if the sushi chef was really angry that I was there and was going to punish me with the worst sushi ever. What the heck is going on with this place? How sad to see a once-great restaurant go so far downhill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJ_Rosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It used to be better.”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The first time we came here the waitress was so polite, and she recommended us so many good dishes. We were so impressed that we came back again the second time. However, we were so disappointed. The waitress this time was so rude. She appeared to be disturbed when we asked her too many questions about dishes. We have been traveling a lot and we have been to Japan, so we know that some dishes have been modified in different ways. We were just asking if they can modify one dish in one way, and instead of just answering yes/no, the waitress for some reason took that as an insult, maybe to the restaurant, and started making bad face ever since.

The food was still great though, so if you can ignore those random annoying stuff that may come along your way, this is a great place to be for Japanese food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shargul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Indifferent Management, Inconsistent Food”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We've been back 4X, and it seems to get worse each time. There are some elements that are lovely: the aburi salmon was great and the sake list is great by the glass. And then there are a lot of things that are poor: miso soup uninteresting, one special was tasteless, and the toro seemed off.

On the service side, there are bigger issues. There seems to be a bias against families (all dumped into the cafe area of the sushi bar despite the fact that the restaurant was largely empty).The Manager is aloof and condescending. And note to ownership: it's the Bay Area so just because we look like typical american families, you may be surprised to know that some of us speak other languages, including Japanese.

Our sons are 14 and 12, and have been lucky to eat sushi all over asia/australia. We wanted Fuki to work, and there are so few sushi places on the Peninsula. But given yesterday's experience, we're done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank singtraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Love the Spicy Tuna Rolls”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

FOOD:
All in all, we found the food here to be rather delicious and enjoyable. Here's a breakdown of the dishes that we tried:
- Nabeyaki udon: 4 stars
- California rolls: 3 stars
- Rainbow rolls: 3 stars
- Spicy tuna rolls: 5 stars

SERVICE:
Our waitress was somewhat reserved but pleasantly courteous nonetheless. The service was surprisingly slow given that there were only a few other diners around.

PRICE:
Our bill averaged out to around $35 per person.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaakin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fuki-Sushi also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 
 

Been to Fuki-Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing