We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great steak, nice environment, just a little bit noisy”

Sundance The Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Sundance The Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stanford Ave.
Description: Since its opening in 1974, prime steaks and martinis have never gone out of style at this Palo Alto institution. The atmosphere is very clubby with fireplaces, dark wood, sports memorabilia and plush leather booths tucked into the many nooks throughout the dining room. Famous for their slow-roasted prime rib & hand-cut U.S.D.A Prime Steaks, they also offer fresh seafood, cold water lobster tail & succulent shellfish. The 23 oz. Bone-In Rib eye Steak is the "Boss' Favorite" while the Double Cut Filet Mignon runs a close second. Sundance is respected for serving the best food money can buy coupled with value & simplicity – a welcome relief for serious food & steak aficionados. The menu is supported by an award-winning wine list that features over 400 selections focusing on highly allocated Napa Valley Cabernets & Sonoma Pinot Noirs. Exceptional ratings & numerous restaurant awards rank Sundance the Steakhouse as a true dining destination.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great steak, nice environment, just a little bit noisy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I enjoyed the steak very much. The chowder soup is also great. This is my first time to the US. I think the environment is quite traditional American steakhouse, quite dark inside, but nice enough. One not is good thing is a little bit noisy. The service is also good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank china_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    130
    36
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty darned good...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

If we’re going to Sundance, we usually try to do it about 3 or 4 pm. Nice and quiet, the waitstaff is excellent (there’s usually no one else in there, and that’s pleasant). I go for the Prime Rib and a nice afternoon with my husband.. both work out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal in a Cozy Setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friends and I enjoyed an excellent meal at Sundance Steakhouse. They have a comprehensive wine list. My friends' steaks were each cooked to perfection. I had the salmon, and it was delicious! Try it with the Sour Cream Dill Caper Sauce. Our server was pleasant and attentive. We liked the ambiance, complete with wood paneling and hunting lodge flourishes. Definitely worth a visit when you visit Palo Alto.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ModestoLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great early dinner menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you like to eat early (5-6) you can't beat the entries that are offered at that time. Great food at a reasonable price with outstanding service. The regular menu is also reasonably priced and has a large selection of appetizing dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank givemeabreak41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent food, very accomodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Came here with a big group of about 20 people. They gave us a private room. The service was excellent – difficult when it is a big crowd. I ordered the prime rib (as did about 75% of the group – the others ordering various steaks). I got the petite cut, 8 ounces, rare. It was fantastic!! … and it was not 8 ounces – it was huge. The value is very good – for $29 the petite cut and 2 sides (potatoes, rice, creamed spinach etc.). I asked them to saute my spinach instead (with garlic) and substituted tomatoes for the potato. Also asked that they grill the tomatoes and they were excellent. The wait staff was excellent at refilling water, wine glasses, etc. The restaurant was very accommodating. I started with the salad with goat cheese and a balsamic dressing – fresh and light. Perfect before a big meal. The bread was OK (not great). Tasted the apple pie that my colleague ordered. Very good. Had a delicious, strong espresso post meal. My customer ordered a glass of ice wine from Canada - and another one a spicy port. Tried both and they were excellent. For non-meat eaters there are many other choices. There is a parking lot. The bar had a happy hour and we all enjoyed a drink there before getting seated for dinner. I would come back here any day of the week for the value, service and food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraBaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundance The Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sundance The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing