We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy and very good”

La Bodeguita del Medio
Ranked #30 of 360 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,948 reviews
1,112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Very busy and very good”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is one of the busiest restaurants on California Avenue so reservations are really important here. It has a lively bar and wide ranging menu of Latin American inspiration. Open for lunch (though not every day) and dinner, it has a very good range of interesting dishes. Black bean soup and Caribbean curry are excellent. Service is good but can be slow due to the number of diners. Overall the place is very good if you are in no hurry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    69
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch AND dinner”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

There are a lot of great places to eat in Palo Alto but if you want to impress and try something different, this is the place to go. Make sure to get reservations or you may be waiting a long time. Flavors are unique across the dishes. I always get the chicken, even if you don't like chicken, it's good here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious braised meats”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My son and I visited La Bodeguita del Medio recently on a visit to Stanford. The menu looked very enticing as we walked by so we went in and were seated right away. The waiter (owner?) was eager to explain the menu, though he did seem to recommend just about everything. But he did say that their Cuban-inspired braised meats were their specialty, so I ordered the beef and my son ordered the pork, and we shared like a Chinese meal. Both were excellent, although we both preferred the beef which had more robust flavors. It also came with fried plantains that were delicious. For appetizers we tried the empanadas, which were outstanding, and the shrimp ceviche, which had an interesting twist of the addition of coconut milk. The milk toned down the tartness of the lime, and I thought it a nice addition. The shrimp were whole but small - just larger than cocktail size. I much prefer shrimp ceviche with chopped jumbo shrimp - more tender. But it was good nevertheless. I also tried a "signature" mojito, which was as good as advertised. Altogether a solid meal with good service (including a johnny-on-the-spot clean up of a water glass spilled by my son). The atmosphere of the dining room is casual elegance, and very conducive to conversation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
634 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food and service on CA avenue near Stanford”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you like Cuban food, this is the place to go. Great location near Stanford on CA Avenue. Service is great and food takes you to latin america. Drinks are great as well. A do not miss for Latin American foodies!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California, United States
2 reviews
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

La Bodeguita consistently offers an experience that is unique in the Bay Area. The restaurant offers superb service, great ambience, and food that is creative and absolutely delicious. The owners, Michael and Lara, have earned a loyal following for years and they work very hard to keep the experience fresh and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBP160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bodeguita del Medio also viewed

 

Been to La Bodeguita del Medio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing