We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honors its lineage as Kokkari's sibling”
Review of Evvia

Evvia
Reserve with OpenTable
Evvia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 360 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University
Description: Sister restaurant of Kokkari, Evvia has been serving beautiful and elegant Greek cuisine since 1995. Fabulous fish, savory roasted meats, and sun-soaked vegetables are jazzed up with a spritz of lemon, a little olive oil, and herbs. There is perfection in simplicity.
Mount Kisco, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honors its lineage as Kokkari's sibling”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In a previous trip to the Bay Area we had the opportunity to find a spot at Kokkari at the last minute, and the food was truly outstanding.

We recently were in the Bay Area more towards San Jose, and tried Evvia. Solid upscale Greek restaurant, with mostly traditional Greek food, delivered at a high standard. Ambiance was also great, despite us arriving at almost 10pm midweek, the place was more than 85% full, which made for a very enjoyable experience. Interesting wine list as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rocejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    115
    39
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal for Mother's Day”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We enjoyed a delicious Mother’s Day Dinner at Evvia. The calamari appetizer tender (not chewy) with delicious breading. Enjoyed a very well prepared skewered lamb that was tender and did not have the strong taste/smell associated with lamb when not well prepared. The tzatziki was thick and creamy. The béchamel sauce used in the pastitsio was thick and creamy. We enjoyed the Greek coffee prepared in an unique heating method with sand. Everything we tried was delicious. The service was very efficient in the completely filled restaurant on Mother’s day evening. The décor is very nice with a lot of wood, open kitchen and a fireplace. Reservations are suggested. We would recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mediterranean Cuisine”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Beautifully decorated, great good and atmosphere, would best describe my experience at Evvia.
The staff was attentative, personable and accommodating. But the star of the night was the main course for me, delightul loin lamb chops served with oven crispy-roasted potatoes.
I would highly recommend the restaurant, just for the lamb chops. I am sure the other dishes were just as good selected by table guests.
You need to keep in mind this is quite pricey, only for very special occasions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OneMansPerspectives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The 3 of us popped in to catch a quick dinner on a Saturday night- bad idea in terms of planning The manager suggested reservations weeks in advance. Our dining nymphs were with us that evening and after a stand up drink at the very small cocktail bar, we secured two seats with standing room in between. BTW, our server mad the best rye Manhattan ever! Variety is the spice of life so we selected about half the appetizers and one entree to share. Not a bad dish in the house. The grilled octopus would have been the tops but the hits kept coming. The only thing I would change is for the wine list to have a better representation of California wines- this is in Palo Alto. The Gundlach Bunschu was cheered by all. Have fun with the people watching here- as I mentioned, this is Palo Alto, after all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank red7557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had seen this place on PBS's 'Check Please Bay Area' and as we go to Stanford regularly, we thought we would give it a try. Well worth it. I had the roast lamb sandwich (does not describe it) and my spouse had skewered chicken and both were excellent. The bread is very good and the sauces made a real difference. The service was good and friendly. This is a busy place and there is lots of noise. It is part of the experience. Free parking across the street along with valet. We liked it and will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evvia also viewed

 

Been to Evvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing