We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gourmet Mcdonalds”

The Annex at St. Michael’s Alley
Ranked #209 of 360 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gourmet Mcdonalds”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Not much to say other than VERY EXPENSIVE for what it is... It's such a pity because you can tell it's good quality and fresh food, but the way it is made and mixed with other stuff just spoils it all. I don't know why the chef does that to his food, it's almost an offense to quality cuisine.

* the appetizers were good
* the Entrées (I had pan roasted duck breast with pomegranate chili sauce, and my boyfriend took the pumpkin ravioli, smoked bacon brown butter sauce) were just a mess. We felt like we were eating at some kind of gourmet mcdonalds. My duck was just drowned by this really sugary sauce, which is a pity because you could tell the duck was good, but the sauce just messed it all up. The taste ended up being some kind of ultra sugary awfulness. I wasn't even able to finish my dish.
I tasted my boyfriend's ravioli's and basically same "gourmet mcdonald's" feeling: what were all these weird sugary / greasy tastes that had nothing to do with one another doing combined in the same plate?
The food is not refined, it's not sophisticated at all. It's a mix of tastes that don't blend well. We were expecting better from this kind of restaurant.
The service, on the other hand, was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delfeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Energetic, fun and delicious!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We met Mike and Jenny (owners) in Whistler and decided to pay a visit to their restaurant. Crowds of people outside but their staff were experts at getting people through and we had fun people watching as we waited the 30 minutes (I noted that a family waiting were brought a scone to keep them happy while they waited - nice touch). The staff were friendly, skilled and fast..... We both had eggs benedict (smoked salmon and regular) and they were excellent and accompanied by a home-made biscuit and wonderful potatoes. Would definitely return ourselves, recommend to family and friends and plan to visit their main restaurant for an evening meal when we return to the SF area. Highly recommended.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A&BOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheers with a better menu”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Love this neighborhood bar and restaurant. We are always welcomed like old friends at this hip, warm and friendly spot. The upscale menu changes regularly and always includes gluten free options for my finicky palate . See you there soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy Weekend brunch”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We drive up from San Jose at least two Saturdays a month to have brunch here after a workout. It took a while for the staff to get to know us, but we now feel like regulars. Wide variety of brunch type food, along with some pasta, sandwiches and salads. Whatever the special pancake is, get it. I had macadamia pancakes yesterday and they were terrific. All of the eggs Benedict's are quite good.

They don't take reservations, so you may have to wait a but, but it is always worth. They have some excellent servers, and the host is charming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“See reviews for St. Michael's Alley on Homer Avenue”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Your should go to Tripadvisor reviews for "St. Michael's Alley 140 Homer Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94301". St. Michael's Alley has two locations, two blocks apart. This page's Emerson location is for the Annex, where only weekend brunch is served. The location on Homer is for lunch and dinner. Almost all the reviews for St. Michael's Alley are on the other site and include reviews for both locations.

I hope you find this re-direct helpful.

At present, the link for the other reviews is "http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g32849-d469010-Reviews-St_Michael_s_Alley-Palo_Alto_California.html".

My rating of Average is for the weekend brunch, more fully described on the other (Homer Ave) page.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChadH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Annex at St. Michael’s Alley also viewed

 

Been to The Annex at St. Michael’s Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing