We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Curry Up Now

Curry Up Now
Ranked #70 of 360 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Owned by local duo, Akash and Rana Kapoor, Curry Up Now was inspired by street food popular in India and other parts of the world. Akash and Rana started Curry Up Now as the Bay Area's very first Indian Street Food truck and have now expanded to five food trucks, four brick & mortar restaurants and two craft cocktail bars named Mortar & Pestle. Items on the menu include the iconic Chicken Tikka Masala Burrito, Deconstructed Samosa, Naughty Naan and Sexy Fries, plus there's an extensive list of gluten free and vegan options. Feeling like a night cap? Head to Mortar & Pestle Bar with friends for handcrafted cocktails, using housemade syrups, or try one of the locally crafted brews on tap.
Restaurant details
Description: Owned by local duo, Akash and Rana Kapoor, Curry Up Now was inspired by street food popular in India and other parts of the world. Akash and Rana started Curry Up Now as the Bay Area's very first Indian Street Food truck and have now expanded to five food trucks, four brick & mortar restaurants and two craft cocktail bars named Mortar & Pestle. Items on the menu include the iconic Chicken Tikka Masala Burrito, Deconstructed Samosa, Naughty Naan and Sexy Fries, plus there's an extensive list of gluten free and vegan options. Feeling like a night cap? Head to Mortar & Pestle Bar with friends for handcrafted cocktails, using housemade syrups, or try one of the locally crafted brews on tap.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great food, and good customer service sums up this place.
The PTM Burritos and the Kathi Rolls are amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for an Indian cuisine with a twist.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indian street food at its best”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Their vada pav is amazing, just get it!

They have an interesting take on Indian food and street snacks. Would recommend to people familiar and unfamiliar with Indian cuisine. Wont be disappointed

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikhilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An cozy restaurant with trendy Indian look !!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

An cozy restaurant with trendy indian look .. fusion of Indian variety n taste with others .. an tasty mango ginger lemonade ..sexy fries .. paneer tikka roll .. burrito .. tofu .. good variety.
reasonably priced .. pleasing n helping accommodating staff .. good place !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smparmar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Casual Indian at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Curry Up Now is a branch of a food truck that hit it big throughout the bay area in 2011. They've expanded the menu to lots of smaller joints throughout the area.

It's counter service casual, and they have dishes like Frankie Rolls, more than the Northern Indian menu you're used to.

It's one of the few places in Palo Alto where you can just Fuel and Go quickly, get a solid interesting meal, and not spend a mint. A welcome part of the scene - a great lunch spot - good for a casual dinner - and great if you're in town for a few days on business and tired of the University Ave scene.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“High point eating out in Palo Alto”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed a month in Palo Alto. A nice, peaceful, friendly place, with beautiful houses and front gardens. Only not so good point during my visit: food. I ate out almost every week night during five weeks around University Ave. and never went to the same place twice. I didn't try all restaurants in Palo Alto for sure, and I would like to think I missed very good ones. But I will only be writing this review because I just didn't find any other place worth writing about. Well maybe for breakfast try Lyfe or University Café. And restaurants are nice, the service was always very good, lots of people eating out any day of the week so very lively but well, except for Curry Up Now, no memories of the food. This place is easy going, not fancy at all, very affordable and the food, I thought, is just great. I like Indian food, a little on the spicy side, and really enjoyed eating here. Everything from the bread to the paneer and the rice was tasty, and well prepared. And I might of had the best chai I've ever tried. Why didn't I just stick to this place when I found it? I thought about it but just couldn't believe I wouldn't be able to find another place I would like as much or better. The bar was set high and I didn't. Now that I am leaving my only regret is not having been back. And it is not only that by comparison I thought it was the only good place here. One can eat well in Palo Alto, but nothing remarkable in the other places I tried. Curry Up Now is remarkable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimBta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curry Up Now also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Curry Up Now? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing