We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steam

Steam
Ranked #146 of 355 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Great place for lunch in Palo Alto. Authentic chinese restaurant in downtown Palo Alto. The only thing is it is a bit loud.

Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    37
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can't argue with a dumpling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Anything that comes in a steamer is my best friend so when i saw it was Steam's grand opening i had to stop in.

Breakdown:

Scallop seafood dumplings: beautiful, small, subtle, had a hint of cilantro that I loved.

Pea shoot vegetarian dumplings: fresh and bright and green-tasting, a little boring as these dumplings often are. I forgave them.

Soup dumplings: something was off - but the flavors were beautiful, lots of yummy ginger, and the skins were thin which often is the Achilles heel of a mediocre soup dumpling. It was something textural about the filling that wasn't quite right, but they are just opening after all. I chalked it up to being new, and being a Hong Kong restaurant rather than a Shanghai place.

And then I asked for my check. And then I thought, Well it really wasn't fair of me to order soup dumplings in a HK restaurant and be sad that they weren't perfect and not order cha siu bao. So I found the waitress, stopped her from putting my check through, and asked for cha siu bao.

I was glad I did! They are great. Sweet and fluffy, perfectly proportioned, delicious. Good job STEAM. You do a fabulous job with what you know, and the rest will come in time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LilyK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“You Dim Sum You Lose Sum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Being a local, I've been to Steam twice now with two different people. Both times the experiences were similar: Mediocre food with mediocre service; lunch or dinner.

The dim sum itself is very boring with the Shanghai dumplings being one of the more tasty options. I don't think I'd be able to tell any of the others apart in a blind taste test. We've also tried the Kung Pao Chicken - very dull indeed. The Taiwan noodles are decent as is the Hot & Sour soup and the outdoor seating, although limited, is nice. The inside tables are nice but really really loud (nearly impossible to have a conversation). The service is OK with the same pattern each time: Lukewarm welcome by a few folks and sparse serving which promptly ends when the dishes are completed. If you want to pay and leave, you've got to be proactive about it.

Considering the grade and variety of restaurants in Palo Alto, this place is pretty disappointing. Seeing as they are one of the few places serving dim sum and tons of people love it, they should really step up their game. Expense wise, they are not cheap: Lunch or dinner for two will run you $40-$50.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParadiseAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had lunch at Steam the other day and were very impressed. Prices were totally reasonable, especially for downtown Palo Alto. Food was tasty and came quickly. Good service, delicious treats. We will definitely go back.

The decor was also pleasing to the eye. Very tasteful and classy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good dim sum for pretty cheap. Nice lunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Went for dim sum today and was pleasantly surprised. We got one of each plate of dim sum for a reasonable price and it easily tastes as good as some of the well-talked-about places in the bay area. None of the pieces particularly stood out as anything extraordinary but, if you take it for what it is, it's a good sit down in Palo Alto.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oogidyboogidyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steam also viewed

 

Been to Steam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing