We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steam

Steam
Ranked #139 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Like it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I've been twice and had great meals! The dumplings are lovely and food is very fresh. The price is fair (30 bucks for 2 people is not bad at all - 2 portions of dumplings, sodas and a main course to share), but the service could be better (though is not rude). Like it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ligiarbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    38
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I live in the neighbourhood and it amazes me that downtown Palo Alto has very poor restaurant options. I finally went to visit Steam, and I must say that the food was excellent. We ordered Sweet and Sour soup which was the best I have ever had, delicious and spicy. We also ordered the Tofu Seafood dish with rice on the side and it was one of the tastiest dishes ever.

The only reason I give it a 4 star, is the service. Mind you everyone was friendly and the service itself was excellent, but from what I could tell, you don't have an assigned waiter. You get attended to but different people. So when we had a question or something, we had no idea who to flag.

i will difinitely go back and highly recommend this place. The prices were very reasonable too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MehranX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty, informal dim sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Steam does a nice job for more casual dim sum. Service left something to be desired (namely, there hardly was any). But the food was very good - we loved the steamed BBQ pork buns, pork dumplings, and shui mai, and the vegetarian pea shoot dumplings were pretty good. Be prepared to wait for your food at busy lunchtime.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Friendly or Accommodating for the Elderly or Handicapped.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Steam is one of my mother’s favorite restraints and we visit at least twice each week. We’re always careful to avoid the busy hours and dine at late lunch or early dinner when business is minimal and the restaurant largely empty. At 84 years of age my mother has difficulty walking and standing any length of time is painful.

On December 29th at a little after 4 pm we arrived to find only a few tables occupied. We seated ourselves at one of two tables beside the sidewalk where my mom loves to sit. The second table remained unoccupied for the length of our visit.

After we finished dining I walked up to the cash register to pay leaving a five dollar tip for a 23 dollar bill. The restaurant was 80% empty. The waiter gave me a smug little smile and said, “No offense but next time you come wait to be seated. We might have needed that table for someone else.”

I understood all to well. Steam wants to cater to a young and attractive crowd, the sort of people you see pictured in restaurant advertisements and travel magazines. They’ll serve people like my mom but they’d prefer to do so in the back of the restaurant where they’re not quite so visible. I was hurt.

Gordon Reade

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Super Steam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

What a hopping spot! This place is nonstop and has a great buzz. Located right on University Avenue, it's convenient. As for the eats, everything we ordered tasted fresh and fabulous. The price was somewhat reasonable for two - approx. $75 for five dishes plus rice and two glasses of wine each. The seating is a bit crowded and the noise level is pretty high - but, on a Friday night, it's definitely a go-to spot. Eat up - you won't be hungry again for awhile!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gigi4462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steam also viewed

 

Been to Steam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing