We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pizza, nothing extraordinary”
Review of Terun

Terun
Ranked #6 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good pizza, nothing extraordinary”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I thought the food at Terun was pretty good, but nothing truly remarkable in my book. The pizzas were by far the best items we ordered; the pasta was average. Service was excellent, but the restaurant is so loud! It was hard to hear my companions, and we were at a small table. It definitely detracts from what is otherwise a fairly pleasant atmosphere. I'd highly recommend the outdoor patio instead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    82
    29
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

If you want a truly Italian pizza (- the origano) this is the plAce to come, simple menu, a few nice starters. Pasta, a little to dense and doughy for my taste.
We had prosciutto, salami, pecorino and tallegio, all vey nice, arugula salad with shaved pecorino - excellent!
My pizza quatro stationi, + egg ( runny ;) ) excellent too, just missing the origano. Pasta Cavatelli- hmm flavor very nice, but a bit to doughy, to dense. Desert cannoli, hmm please no chocolate sauce out of a bottle!

Wine very nice bottle of Cirulli . The 3 stars close to four, if it wouldn't be for the noise level , a few soft surfaces c even just table cloth would dampen the 96 dB to a lire acceptable level on a busy Saturday evening. Still, worth coming back for the pizze!

Helpful?
2 Thank Hines E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Neapolitan food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We decided to order family style and purchased two of the salads, two of the pizzas, and gnocchi. First, the Purple gnocchi was the best I had ever had (several at the table agreed). It is a must order, and wonderful for sharing... like an appetizer! The salads were good, but a bit odd. We tried the grilled romaine as none of us ever had it before. It tasted like... grilled lettuce. Two clumps of romaine (like the old iceberg wedge), with a cherry tomato cut in half. Won't be ordering that again! The other salad was fairly tame mixed green salad with corn and no tomatoes. It was fine.

The Margarita pizza was a basic Neapolitan pie, and was very good. The big winner was the Tricolore, with delicious cherry tomatoes, arugula, and a type of cheese that looked like cottage cheese but tasted like a terrific mozzarella. It had to be eaten with the pizza folded over like a sandwich... thus, I imagine the panninis are terrific! Fun place to eat and sitting outside watching the people on a beautiful day didn't hut the experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mywebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monterey county
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We had a group of 7 friends there for a birthday lunch. Our waiter was terrific. Very personable and helped us select a variety of salads and pizzas to share. There was something for everyone. The salted caramel gelato with olive oil was sublime! Will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank chuckbtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza & Atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I went here with friends on a Wednesday night, and we had a reservation so there was no trouble. We were seated on the back patio which was a great ambiance - cute lights, heat lamps, stone floor - we really enjoyed it. Service was good and the food was fantastic. I loved the beet salad, and we ordered the Bismarck and San Daniele pizzas. The San Daniele was amazing. I would definitely get that again and would absolutely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terun also viewed

 

Been to Terun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing