We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some vegan options, creative menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of CREAM

CREAM
Ranked #2 of 22 Dessert in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: CREAM (Cookies Rule Everything Around Me) - Freshly baked HOMEMADE cookies. Award winning ice cream. Amazing ice cream sandwiches!
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
629 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Some vegan options, creative menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a popular place with a long line that moves fast. The ordering is simple - you pick the cookies, decide if you want them warmed, pick the ice cream, & pick the toppings. They have other items but this is their main thing. I can see why it is popular. The service was good. During my 1st visit, they were out of one of the vegan cookies - I believe they have 4 or 5 options. Their eggless ice cream selection only has 2 floors. The vegan price is almost double the price of the regular cookies & ice cream. And the Yelp & FB deal they have with check-in is not for a vegan cookie, so I was not happy about that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P, Owner at CREAM, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your visit. We're sorry to hear that you left CREAM unhappy. We strive to always provide five star products and service. We charge more for our vegan and gluten-free products because it costs us more to make them. We hope you understand. We want to thank you for visiting. We invite you to stop by again soon to try another vegan ice CREAM sandwich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    21
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Cream is such a great place so great we went there twice on our trip to Palo Alto! Fresh ice cream samwiched between two freshly baked cookies, enough said! If you want to save 50 cents pay cash (2.50). The line might be long sometimes but it moves fast and is worth the wait!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fanofdalejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P, Owner at CREAM, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks for visiting CREAM while you were in the Palo Alto area and for leaving such an awesome review! We hope you stop by again soon for more ice CREAM sandwiched between freshly baked cookies ;-)! See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“HUGE & homemade ice cream sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

CREAM is quite the experience - super popular, and cheap ($2.50 if you pay cash!). It's fun to customize your sandwich, choosing the top/bottom cookies and ice cream. Good ice cream and very tasty cookies (warm and fresh). The sandwich is huge, though they'll cut it in half for you if you want. Be prepared for a long wait at peak hours!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P, Owner at CREAM, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thanks for visiting and taking the time to leave such a positive review! We're happy to hear that you had fun customizing your ice CREAM sandwich ;-) We hope you stop by soon for more good ice CREAM and tasty cookies. If the full sandwich is a bit too big for you, we also offer a half sandwich! See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ice cream cookies extraordinaire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Delicious ice cream sandwiches between a choice of cookies. Great selection of flavours including soy versions. Don't be put off by the lines they go down quickly and the ice cream is worth the wait! The service is excellent. Don't be afraid to ask to try some flavours the staff are very accommodating. There is a real buzz about this place across all age groups. Highly recommend the raisin and oat cookie with either pistachio or soy cherry and choc chip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P, Owner at CREAM, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thanks for the awesome, five star review! We're all about providing our customers with tasty cookies and delicious ice CREAM ;-) We're happy to hear that you were able to try multiple flavors! White pistachio ice CREAM between two oatmeal raisin cookies is one of our favorite combinations too! Stop by again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This place is fun and reasonable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I went to downtown Palo Alto looking for something else and noticed the line for CREAM. I wondered what all the fuss was about so I got in line. This is seriously some of the best ice cream I have ever had. It is placed between two fresh cookies of your choice and costs under $3.00. What a fun place. I thought the line and the energy of the people waiting in it was fun. Pay cash and you get a discount. Staff is friendly and the line moves along nicely. I can't wait to go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boganvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P, Owner at CREAM, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thanks for the five star review! We're so glad you decided to give CREAM a try. We love hearing that you think our ice CREAM is some of the best you've ever had! We hope you stop by again soon for more fresh cookies and delicious ice CREAM! See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CREAM also viewed

 

Been to CREAM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing