We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Secret LUXURY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, United States
1 review
“Quiet, Secret LUXURY”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

From the instant smiles upon check in, to the serene suite near the top of the hotel, I was transported to another place and time. Huge, safe, and well-lit hallways and very interesting art and design tell me a great deal of thought and attention to detail went into this boutique hotel. Bravo, for another GREAT hotel from JDV -- I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Scott F,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our design! I'm looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    59
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
96
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Modern, sleek look with an environmentally conscious tone. The room was peaceful and beautiful. The decorating details were unique in my experience with hotels. Probably the nicest place I've stayed for work in the past five years. The front desk team was eager and helpful and the bellman (I usually turn down the offer of assistance) introduced me to the sliding/tilting glass door to my deck, the espresso machine, and other novelties.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jedwards_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear jedwards_10,

What a pleasure to read your review! Thank you for taking the time - this really means a lot. I will make sure to share your positive words with the entire team and hope to welcome you back to the Epiphany Hotel very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My family of four stayed here recently while my husband had business in Palo Alto. Although it had only opened several days prior, our visit ran very smoothly and we loved the hotel.

Room: Everything is top quality, from the linens and towels, to the bath products. The room is very nicely designed, but a bit cramped for a family of four. I was afraid the beds were too soft for my liking, but I got an amazing night's sleep in them, which is rare for me. It would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room, though. Definitely ask for a room on the even-numbered side of the building, as trash trucks and street noise will disturb you on the odd-numbered side.

Service: We were treated with warmth and friendliness from the moment we pulled up. The hotel is valet parking only. All of the valets and bellmen were unfailingly friendly, helpful and polite. (Ralph, Manuel, Kyle and Adam come to mind.) I know they are trained to be like that, but my two boys (ages 10 and 13) honestly felt like they were their friends. The valets made it a point to have conversations with all of us, and it made our weeklong visit extra pleasant. Every staff member was a pleasure to deal with during our stay.

Location: When you walk out of the lobby, you have all kinds of restaurants, bars, etc. you can walk to. There are also drugstores, and other shopping nearby. As a hotel guest, you have access to a cute little gym across the street. You really cannot beat the perfect location, as well as easy access to the CalTrain station and the freeways.

Definitely give this hotel a try! You will love everything about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the even-numbered side. It does not have a great view, but it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaBaer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear MamaBear6,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We very much enjoyed having you and your family as one of our first guests! Thanks to your feedback we were able to change the trash pick-up times with the City of Palo Alto - this will certainly improve the quiet time in the morning.

I will make sure to share your very positive feedback with Adam, Manuel, Kyle, Ralph and all our other staff members!

I hope to welcome you back to the Epiphany Hotel in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Epiphany is a new hotel in Palo Alto (it had been opened for just a week when I stayed). The rooms are super-comfortable and well designed. Compared to other hotels in Silicon Valley, even the big chains, the price was competitive - even at $250/night. I guess the price could go up when it's a little more established.

Situated very close to the heart of Palo Alto and within walking distance of the main restaurants, amenities and the university, it's a great location. Service was friendly and helpful (though they were having one o0r two teething problems in the bar/restaurant that I'm sure will be ironed out shortly). They made it their business to know my name - even the car valet guys. I had a premium deluxe king room - the balcony looking out over Palo Alto was great. There's a gym across the road. Valet parking.

Overall an excellent place. I wish them tremendous luck with their new venture.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperE, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Stan,

Thank you for taking the time and write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Epiphany Hotel. We very much appreciate your kind words. I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team at the Epiphany.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
650 666 3330
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
652 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
637 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Silicon Valley at East Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 180 Hamilton Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wired. In the heart of downtown Palo Alto, surrounded by the hottest VC firms, the fastest-growing companies, plus the creative dynamism of Stanford University - this is where you need to be staying.Modern, yet warm. Organic, yet tech-savvy. Wired, yet easygoing. Innovative, with a hint of whimsy. The 86 rooms at Epiphany- featuring 18 Deluxe Queen/Queens, Premium Suites, and 4 Hospitality Suites - let you recharge while staying connected to it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing