We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fantastic!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I came into town for a training at Stanford. The location of the Epiphany is perfect, free access to the gym, wonderful food on-site, beautifully appointed rooms, and the staff are truly top notch. Thank you! I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coconutlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Coconutlemon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to share your nice words with the entire staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Epiphany for 6 nights with a group of business colleagues. I was pleased with the hotel's interiors - from the lobby to the bedroom, it was modern yet comfortable. I loved the look and feel of dark wood and metal in the lobby, and the homey yet hip design of the bedroom. No scrimping on bathroom essentials, they used malin+goetz toiletries, and basic necessities were in place. The bed and pillows were soft and comfortable. There was an Illy machine in the bedroom which took care of my caffeine fix. The food at their restaurant, Lure and Till, was delicious and it was a popular place at night. Great location, hotel was beside bars, cafes, and a few shops; and it was a mile away from Stanford.

The major nit that I had was the meal service. We were a large group so getting served at breakfast was a challenge, and there was one time when my breakfast room service order was not picked up. The service staff was quick to apologize though, and they were consistently courteous. Perhaps since the hotel is still new, they are still getting used to large groups and ironing out operational kinks.

Overall, it was still a very decent experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank khunkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear khunkc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Epiphany hotel! It was a great pleasure to host your group. I'm delighted to hear that you liked your stay and I'm thankful for your feedback regarding the room service issue. Good to hear that the staff reacted well. Thanks to your feedback we were able to improve our operation in order to make sure this will not be duplicated in the future.

Again, thank you for your kind words. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Epiphany in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Which sometimes happens when reading great TripAdvisor reviews - expectations are heightened - sometimes leading to disappointment.
We travel to Palo Alto fairly frequently and have a few hotels where we like to stay, but are always interested in something new.
- The location is great! near the train station, great coffee places, restaurants and Whole Foods
- Rooms are nice, clean with modern decor - but not really outstanding or luxurious
- Hotel restaurant might be good - but so incredibly crowded from the bar - more of a very loud singles scene (predominantly women when we were there, for some reason) - and the noise spills into the hotel lobby entrance
- there really is no lobby to speak of - nice reception check in area - but no place to sit and/or relax
- the hotel is apparently a converted assisted living or rehab facility - the corridors are still very long, narrow and motel like. Fabulously interesting lighting decor - very fun
- but the worst part, for me, was that they must have "forgotten" to renovate our balcony area. It was disgusting - without exaggeration - looking like it had not been repaired in 30 years. The balcony was literally missing a piece of the enclosure barrier - anyone could have easily fallen off. the "floor" of the balcony was filthy and pitted with holes - it clearly had not been renovated.

We did tell the front desk - but had no follow-up.

Depending on their rates, would consider staying there again (assuming repairs made) - but it definitely would not be my first choice, disappointingly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squishytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear squishytiger,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us and I'm happy to learn that you liked the Hotel. I'm concerned about your comments about the balcony. Rest assured that all our balcony railings are brand new, inspected and absolutely safe. The balcony floors were intentionally left with untreated concrete to reflect a modern and industrial look. Feel free to contact me at the email or phone number below if you would like to discuss this further.

Again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback and I'm hoping that I will be able to welcome you back to the Epiphany Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I grew up in Palo Alto and return often, I've stayed at a considerable number of hotels downtown, midtown, off 101 and near campus. For both and business and vacation lodging the Epiphany is hard to beat. Beautifully located downtown they are one of the only hotels with car valet service, an important consideration with Palo Alto's difficult parking. Close to all of the downtown food choices they've got a good restaurant and bar in house serving breakfast lunch and dinner along with room service.

On the same block is Pizzaria Defina a SF chain that is a real standout destination.
Also worth booking is Evvia an upscale Mediterranean a short walk away.
Across the street is the Peninsula Creamery a Palo Alto institution that only sort of rests on its laurels, if your kids are in tow it's a great choice.
For coffee and pastries the Coupa Cafe around the corner is a local hang out.

In room the TV's are new Samsung's with beautiful pictures. There are no premium movie options, only HBO but it is possible to dock an iPad and stream your Netflicks through the hotels free Wi-Fi, try that other places!
Bathrooms are very nice and they provided at the time I was there the nicest shampoo/conditioner/bodywash set I've ever seen (excepting a few places in NYC and Paris.)
Beds are comfy, pillows fluffy and everything clean as hell.
I received a free NYT daily.
There is an Illy Cafe espresso machine in the room. It is really good.

Joie De Vivre again shows an attention to service and staff hiring/training that is standing out in a crowded field.

This will most likely be flagged for being fake but it's not, they really stood out in a major way and I wanted to return the favor. You're not going to go wrong here, unless you really hate life and no hotel can help you then.

Room Tip: Face either way, both get sun and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear paul k,

We really appreciate your extensive review of the Epiphany Hotel in Palo Alto! Thank you so much for taking the time and for all the nice comments! I will make sure to share these with the entire team.

I'm looking forward to welcome you back to the Epiphany in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Epiphany is certainly the place to stay in Palo Alto. Superb and very attentive staff, A high tech veneer on a mid-centry frame feels very avant garde and in place in downtown Palo Alto. I would certainly stay here next time I am in Palo Alto.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WitchitaSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear WitchitaSlim,

Thank you for the nice words and for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our service and staff!

I'm looking forward to welcome you back to the Epiphany Hotel very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend night with my wife and daughter while visiting Stanford U for a field hockey tourney last month.
Across the interstate from Stanford, took 7 min. tops to get to stadium. Easy to get to from this hotel.
Location right on the edge of all the restaurants, nightlife. Very energetic area all around hotel, but was quiet in the room with no noise from street below.
Super friendly staff all around and willing to please.
VERY clean rooms and common areas, which one would expect for a newer hotel. Modern design throughout.
Beds were very comfortable as others have mentioned.
Excellent stay. I would highly recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Cardig,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I very much enjoyed reading your comments and will make sure to share these with the entire team. The Hotel is indeed located very close to the Stanford Campus.

I'm looking forward to welcome you back to the Epiphany Hotel very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My son and I chose The Epiphany based on a stellar recommendation of a fellow traveler. Upon our arrival we were delighted to find that it was new, modern. welcoming, with the amenities we would need and a delicious restaurant as well as centrally located. What most stood out though, was the way GM Nick Hafer and all of the front of the house registration staff went all out to track my garment bag that the shuttle driver had driven away with (we had no idea what shuttle, no information on the driver, etc). 40 minutes later, through CSI-like sleuthing they identified which of the 40 shuttle services we were actually on, tracked down the driver and recovered the item in question. Additionally, I was traveling with a broken leg and knee scooter, and their facilities lent themselves well. Considering that most of the properties in Palo Alto are in dire need of renovation and overpriced for what they offer, I can say I would recommend ONLY staying at the Epiphany - make sure to say hello to Nick et al!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMaurer, General Manager at Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Yolanda W.,

Thank you so much for your nice comments about your recent stay at the Epiphany Hotel. I really enjoyed reading your feedback and I'm glad to hear that Nick and his team went above and beyond to find your garment bag.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and I hope to welcome you back to the Epiphany Hotel in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
669 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 11 in Menlo Park
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto

Address: 180 Hamilton Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1618 (Formerly The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range: £226 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wired. In the heart of downtown Palo Alto, surrounded by the hottest VC firms, the fastest-growing companies, plus the creative dynamism of Stanford University - this is where you need to be staying.Modern, yet warm. Organic, yet tech-savvy. Wired, yet easygoing. Innovative, with a hint of whimsy. The 77 rooms at Epiphany- featuring 18 Deluxe Queen/Queens, Premium Suites, and 4 Hospitality Suites - let you recharge while staying connected to it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing