We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ephiphany Hotel has a great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Davis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Ephiphany Hotel has a great staff!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff from the front desk, valet, doorman, and restaurant host were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well decorated and very clean. The location was great. Loved my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olympicshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMa, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Olympicshopper,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our service and our staff! I'll make sure to share your comments with our entire team at the Epiphany.

I'm looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    59
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
95
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A hip,stylish boutique jewel with exceptional staff in the heart of the Silicon Valley.

As 4 to 5 star as any boutique can get.

I have stayed at many boutique hotels in a few cities including San Fran and this was definitely one of the best. I loved the modern sophisticated Euro/Danish decor, lighting, ambiance, amenities, bedding, shower, shower products, espresso machine -- all aesthetically stimulating and excellent.

The staff service at the hotel and restaurant bar was exceptional.

Bar and restaurant food were better than expected with respect to quality; price and value were as expected at any good hotel.

Once parked (valet) , a great location for trying out all restaurants in downtown Palo Alto or heading to the indie theaters or for a business trip to Silicon Valley (as compared with some of the bigger chains) or if you don't want to sleep on a cot or chair overnight at Stanford Hospital when you have a loved one staying there, this is a wonderful place 8 minutes away to take care of yourself.

I will be bringing my husband back for a fun overnight in downtown Palo Alto and recommending the hotel for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMa, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Tammy T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I will make sure to share your very nice comments with the entire staff. I'm glad to hear that you liked our decor and our great location, as well as the service from our staff!

I'm looking forward to welcome you and your husband in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I really enjoyed my three nights at this relatively new hotel. My room was compact yet had everything I needed, including an illy coffee machine, multiple charging stations, and a spacious shower. My toilet was in a separate closet from where the shower and sink were, which took some getting used to, but worked well for one person. The gym facilities are right across the street, but I didn't mind. The staff were impeccable and even asked when we planned to head out to meetings in the mornings and would have our car waiting for us. Location was perfect, lots of restaurants and stores right around the corner. There are not many rooms on a floor, which made it nice and quiet. I loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again on business or vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMa, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear palena,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the Illy espresso machines and that you liked our great location in the heart of Palo Alto!

I'm looking forward to welcome you back to the Epiphany in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I spent a week at this hotel while at a conference. It was beautiful! The king size bed, with its many pillows, in the nicely air-conditioned room, was so inviting at the end of a hot, busy day. The bathroom and shower were gorgeous, with elegant shampoos and soaps.

Located downtown, only steps away to many great restaurants (the one located on the main floor was delicious).

Service was impressive - I would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberlee200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMa, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Amberlee200,

Thank you for your nice words and for taking the time to post such a nice review on Tripadvisor! I will make sure to share it with the entire team!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for a weekend tennis tournament and absolutely loved it. The rooms are great, very spacious, clean design, comfy beds! The restaurant and bar are a hot spot for the local professional 30 something crowd so it was busy every night. Wait staff are friendly and attentive, especially Karen, who took great care of us each morning for breakfast. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JoshK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMa, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Josh K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Epiphany. I will make sure to share your great feedback with Karen and the entire team!

I'm looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were so pleased! every person that worked here greeted us by name every time they saw us and were fantastic. The rooms were kitchy and fun and we had an espresso maker in ours along with a fantastic balcony.
location is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sikestacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMa, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear stacy b,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Epiphany Hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our service and I look forward to welcome you back in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing that I can complain about with this hotel. From check-in to check-out, the service was impeccable and flawless. The room was spotless and inviting - shower good, bed comfy, air conditioning great. I was especially impressed with the ability to tie my iPad or iPhone into their tv display and watch videos and Netflix on the flat screen tv in the room.
I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was truly ideal. Everyone I know who goes to Palo Alto will hear about this hotel from me.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenzMa, General Manager at The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Jennifer C,

Thank you for posting such a great review on Tripadvisor! Good to hear that you like our technology solutions - they are designed to make your stay more convenient by letting you use your own content from your personal device while taking advantage of our 47" Samsung TV's!

I'm very much looking forward to welcome you back to the Epiphany Hotel!

Kindest regards,

Lorenz Maurer
General Manager
650 666 3330
lmaurer@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 180 Hamilton Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get wired. In the heart of downtown Palo Alto, surrounded by the hottest VC firms, the fastest-growing companies, plus the creative dynamism of Stanford University - this is where you need to be staying.Modern, yet warm. Organic, yet tech-savvy. Wired, yet easygoing. Innovative, with a hint of whimsy. The 86 rooms at Epiphany- featuring 18 Deluxe Queen/Queens, Premium Suites, and 4 Hospitality Suites - let you recharge while staying connected to it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing