We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Classic American Fare”

Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill
Ranked #1 of 22 Dessert in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University Ave
Transit: VTA 35, Caltrain
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Classic American Fare”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place pulls off the rare feat of being a classic diner without consciously being retro - it is what it is. Their large selection of breakfasts, burgers, sandwiches, entrees and blue plate specials are always generously portioned and delicious. They have an on-site bakery so dinner rolls, cornbread and even the burger buns are fresh and delicious. The real stars are the milkshakes; expertly made to the perfect thickness. My personal favorite dishes are the Patty Melt and the Southern Fried Chicken Salad with a Chocolate Malt. It's not the biggest restaurant so be prepared to wait a little bit at peak times - it's also not the cheapest place but its a decent value due to the high quality of the food. I don't get there as much as I used to since I moved from the area, but this was my go to spot whenever I wanted a great meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    123
    35
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Creamery -- what more do you need to know?”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Creamery is one of our favorites. The milk shakes are made with real ice cream, and are terrific. I tried one of my daughter's favorites -- a grilled cheese with bacon sandwich; she was right -- it was very good. As usual, there were people there she knew -- it is a neighborhood place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Even better than I remember it. Grew up here, and this is WAYcomfort food! I've probably eaten everything they make here and I have zero complaints--except maybe the calories--but hey, it's Palo Alto where even books and magazine taste like marzipan (at least according to Tom Wolfe)
;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Old-time surroundings meets Fresh-idea Food here at the corner!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had a awesome breakfast here. Their specials really are special! They bake their own breads, and we had divine almond-encrusted brioche French toast served with fresh peaches. WOW.

The atmosphere is authentic diner (dating back to the roaring 20's), the service is friendly and speedy, and still the food is fresh, verging on gourmet.

This is a really nice find, and worth going out of your way to enjoy. Btw, I hear the milkshakes are wonderful. Gotta come back to try one!

Helpful?
Thank SacAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfort Food for Today's Palate”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The onion rings and desserts are to die for!
This is a great informal place for a group that can't decide where to go. Breakfast all day, mac and cheese, full dinners, sandwiches, seafood all looked yummy. If you want a glass of wine, they have that too.
The baked goods are fresh. Had a steak sandwich (I know, boring!) but the roll it arrived on made the sandwich.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing