We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good, fresh Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria

Osteria
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 355 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently good, fresh Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our recent visit was much like when we first went 20 years ago! Freshly prepared pastas that melt in your mouth, wait staff who clearly work together as a team, and all in an atmosphere of families and couples packed together to enjoy the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    51
    20
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Italian food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great spot for really good Italian food.
I am particularly impressed by how hot and freshly made the food is.
You can't miss.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoxyPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
241 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good food & Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I've been going to Osteria for the past 25 years. Perhaps I've eaten there over a 100 times and I don't think I've ever had a bad meal. Their Calamari steak meals in your mouth, the salad's are fresh and glistening with olive oil and garlic. Great sourdough bread and fast and efficient service. If you happen to be in Palo Alto, then do yourself a favor and go to Osteria....just make sure you don't have to kiss anyone later!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maninasuitcase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good straightforward Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Went for a meal on a very busy evening in Palo Alto and chose this one because it wasn't bursting at the seams but looked pretty good. Our meal was, as others here have said, classic. Well presented, simple Italian food with no nonsense.

The only problem we encountered with it was having to wait 20 minutes to get a copy of our receipt. The restaurant insisted on keeping the original and said it had to go downstairs to be photocopied. By this stage we were ready to go and did not appreciate being made to wait. We chased the bill several times, to no avail. Our waiter assured us this was not his fault and there was nothing he could do about it.

So a suggestion: if you need a copy of your receipt, ask for it BEFORE you pay. I have the clear impression that this would very much make it the waiter's problem to make sure it arrives promptly.

That's the reason I have put that the service was average. in all other respects, it was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Every other review already said it. It is affordable, delicious, and consistent. The three legs on which a restaurant's reputation stands. We have been enjoying the food their for over twenty years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kal150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing