We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in PA”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanford Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanford Motor Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place in PA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed for three nights. Roomy and clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Little bit outdated decor and poor kitchenette standard that doesnt meet requirements. But basically it is a good place to stay at. Good location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
7
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

If I had arrived earlier, I would have left and found another place to stay. Pure filth.

I usually stay at a local Marriott while doing business at Stanford, but they were booked solid.

This motel should be condemmed. I am a world traveler and I haven't seen a place like this in many years.

The carpet is so filthy I will not walk on it without my shoes on. Not only is it deeply stained, it has food crumbs and dirt easily visible. The carpet around and behind the furniture is so filthy it isn't the same color anymore. There are other items behind the furniture I don't want to mention. I cannot believe how disgusting this place is.

The room doesn't appear to have ever been dusted. The top of the window box air conditioner is black with dust - same with the curtains - black dust. You get the picture - it is beyond filthy.

They offer a free breakfast which is a dollar store type plastic covered danish and a juice box kept in in mini fridge in the room which was dirty and was spilling water onto the carpet. The microwave atop the fridge is also dirty.

The beds are squeaky, old and the comforters are from decades ago. I stripped the comforters off so that I could put my LUGGAGE on the bed. One of the "decorative" pillows was torn with the filling coming out.

This place may be OK for the younger generation, but for a 40-something business traveler, this is a nightmare. I will be recommending this hotel be taken off of our corporate travel website as an option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitney h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I thought the decorations were cute/quaint and the staff friendly and helpful, but the motel is pretty bare bones and run-down. The room I was in had a broken tile in the kitchen area and tears in the duvet covers and throw pillows on the beds. The towels are small and super thin. The provided breakfast is pastries kept in the room fridge and juice boxes/coffee maker. There is free wifi, but at least in the room I was staying I kept losing the connection.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel is located close to Downtown PA on El Camino. Basically it is a good price for service you get: Rooms are clean but really old fashion, there is no minibar, no breakfast. Still you have a fridge a coffee maker and a microwave. I would recommand this hotel for short stay (couple of nights) but it may be to simple for longer period.
People working there are friendly.
So basic hotel for basic price in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 120 to 129 they are not facing the road so they are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stateline, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We went to see a very ill friend at the VA hospital in Palo Alto so the trip was not one we wanted to have to make. Our reservation was done from the hospital and we chose this hotel because of the price and TripAdvisor ratings. I say, THANK YOU to all of you who have taken the time to post honestly. The room was perfect for what we needed. The doilies made it more comfortable, the manager was very friendly, the room presentation was clean and fresh and "very pleasant". There are many choices of motels in Palo Alto and they are all next to each other...I don't think you can go wrong if you select this one. Breakfast was a danish already in our room in the little fridge and there was a micro to heat it...who needs those crowded kitchens anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Upon driving into the charming upscale town of Palo Alto, the Motor Inn was easy to find. The location was convenient for what we came for - a tour of Stanford. The Motor Inn transported me back to the time when you pulled over for the night after a long day of driving. Very kitchy, from the plastic plants, water fountain and doilies. However the price was what I wanted to spend for a night traveling through and the parking was free. The pool was closed, and the outside was access was a tad noisy early in the morning. For the area, I would say, "I got what I paid for".

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christaadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The most run-down motel I've ever stayed at. The dingy green carpet has to be original from the 1970's and the bed covers are equally old. I can't understand the excellent ratings on tripadvisor. Really? All experiences surely are relative. At $140 for a double, it wasn't exactly cheap and it definitely should have been better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatSleepExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#21 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#23 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Motor Inn

Property: Stanford Motor Inn
Address: 3305 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-2804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stanford Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stanford Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Motor Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing