We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”
Review of Stanford Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanford Motor Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My son and I stayed here 2 nights while waiting for my son to start a camp at Stanford. Our room was clean, outdated, but what do you expect in this area for this price . This was the sort of motel Experience I had always wanted to have as a kid. But my family never traveled . Don't get me wrong I have stayed in some very nice places as an adult. But this was clean , safe and we felt well looked after. Thank you Neil lovely meeting you and your lovely Family.

Room Tip: Restaurants close early 9:00 pm but a very nice selection just within the block. If you have a pet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
7
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The interior décor is a bit dated but the rooms are very clean and quiet and it's in a great location. I would balk at the rates given the quality of the décor but you're paying for location in this case.

Room Tip: Obviously ask for a room at the back of the property away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My favorite part of this hotel is Neil. I stayed here the night of my surgery. The surgery was at 8:30 am and Neil let me check in and drop my bags prior to surgery. He gave me a nice quiet room and couldn't have been nicer. I was alone and nervous about my surgery and his kindness and competence helped me relax and feel at ease.

As for the place, I was a little nervous about the outside, but my room was so cute and homey. Had everything I needed- comfy bed, good size fridge and freezer (for my frozen peas), microwave, and the decor was adorable.

Exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine_bloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I had to stay here for 9 days while my husband was at Stanford hospital. I originally reserved 2 days, but his condition was quite severe, so I stayed on. I asked daily if I could stay another night as I was living moment to moment and didn't know how long I would have to be in the area. The ladies who managed the property were so sweet and always asked how he was doing. The property is small so there is a real sense of intimacy to the inn. My room had an oven, stove, sink, microwave, coffee maker and cleaned and restocked beautifully everyday. The decor was equally homey. When my husband was moved to a nursing facility I was happy he was making progress, but sad to say goodbye to my new little home away from home. I can't say enough nice things about this little gem. It is an older property, but well-maintained which equals pure charm. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a place to stay that would not break the bank on my visit to Stanford University. I was very happy with this place. The front desk man was very nice (both at check-in and check-out). I had a room on the second floor. Wifi is free and you have a snack of two fruit juices, packaged pastries and a coffee maker. There is also a flat screen Tv, iron, dryer. Everything was very clean. This was my first night in a motel and I checked the mattress and sheets for any stains. All was clean and new looking. They had put an extra blanket on my bed as it was cold at night. The heater stinks (typical room heater smell) when you turn it on and I did not need it anyway. Decoration definitely reminded me of a bed and breakfast. I even got a wake- up call! I would highly recommend if you are looking for a quiet place to sleep close to Stanford and a clean bathroom and don't need a lot of space.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here during my MIL surgery at Stanford Hospital, which is just a couple of miles away. The beds are really comfy, they have little fridges, microwaves and coffee maker and iron, all which are big hits with me. It's kitchy with all the random paintings on the walls of the room and the motel. The pool was closed so cannot comment on it.

It's a nice place to come to at the end of a really hard day. I respect the fact that they have great rates for families going to/from the hospital, making that part easier on everyone. A shuttle is provided to the hospital up and down El Camino Real (which is where this is located). We didn't use it but could be a bonus if you are here for an extended period of time.

The little fridge contains juice boxes and pastries for the early am wake ups.

I hope my next stay here is for fun!

Room Tip: You might want a room toward the back as our room faced El Camino Real and it's a pretty busy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Grand, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I just love this hotel. The staff could not be any friendlier or helpful. Front desk area is charming staff is efficient and knowledgeable!
The first time my husband and I stayed here, I fell in love!! I kept telling him, "this is just like a little bed and breakfast place" So cute, just adore all the hand painting on the walls, they seem to tell a story. The hotel was recommended to us thru Stanford Medical Center ~ Pain Management Dept. I could not have asked for a more relaxing place to stay. I felt calm and comfortable during my stay. And, have since booked the room several times, I won't stay anywhere else <3
I very highly recommend this lovely hotel if you are looking to relax and heal.
However, If you are hoity toity type, and have no view of reality or serenity or peace.. keep looking.
Only certain people can truly appreciate this absolutely lovely place <3

Room Tip: Due to my health, we must have a 1st floor room. All of the 1st floor rooms are easily accessible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori-Borges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#21 of 27 in Palo Alto
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#24 of 27 in Palo Alto
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
2.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Motor Inn

Property: Stanford Motor Inn
Address: 3305 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-2804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stanford Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Stanford Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Motor Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing