We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Cafe - CLOSED

University Cafe
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

After walking all along University Avenue trying to find a place to eat, we stopped at University Cafe because it wasn't too crowded. Based on the Trip Advisor reviews, I wasn't expecting anything too great. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. I had the salmon and it was great! It's a little pricy, but that can be expected because of the location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for tourist!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Food is good but not that great. Very reasonable prices.
Great atmosphere. Excellent place when visiting downtown P.A. and meeting for a coffee.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lupita-na N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Keeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Friendly staff, well groomed, clean and helpful in all areas. Great Italian menu, full flavored well portioned and a good wine list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellowbilledtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside County
Level Contributor
228 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Quality Food, Great View of the Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

They had to move several tables to accommodate our large group and we requested to be seated in the front and not the back of the restaurant. It is a combination coffee house and restaurant. I can see some people going there for just coffee and others going there to dine. We went there for dinner. Their wine prices are reasonable and they have a good selection. The service was average. Our food did come out a little slow but that might have been due to the size of our party (10). The dinner menu is not that extensive. I had curry chicken and it was good but nothing special. Everyone else enjoyed their food so no complaints. Several people in the party said that the ingredients tasted fresh.

This is not the type of place I would go out of my way to go to but in the neighborhood of downtown Palo Alto, it would be a good not great choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lance2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
300 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good place for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The whole family enjoyed eating here, it was a good menu with lots of things to choose from. The craft beers are excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hcmjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing