We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“actually decent italian”
Review of Vero

Vero
Reserve with OpenTable
Vero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 357 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: University
Transit: CalTran Palo Alto station.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“actually decent italian”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This place has some of the better casual italian in palo alto. If you're really craving a decent meal, not quite tuscan but maybe Emille Romaigna, this is the right place. It's casual, sometimes a little chilly, but the wine selection is good and I love the ragu tagliatelli when it's on the menu. Ok for business but not fancy, slightly romantic but not very romantic, a versatile restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Vero very bad”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Palo Alto has a way of having overpriced restaurants that look chic, but with awful food. Vero is different. It's not wildly expensive and has very good food. But the service is appalling, hence my 2 stars. I do not wish to go there again ever.

We went on a Thursday night. Maybe they were busier than they expected, because they had only 2 waiters for the whole place, and they were very disorganized. Right from the start: insufficient menus, long wait for water, bread took forever, half the meals came and then 2 were late, then they got the order very wrong (duck instead of gnocci). They brought us the wrong bill (the one for the next table), then the correct bill with items missing, they charged the credit card an extra amount to make up for their incorrect bill. Mr Schmooze the waiter became Mr Grumpy. And yet, the food was surprisingly good when it came.

A note on noise: it's a very loud restaurant, so better for an intimate dinner. Most of the time I couldn't hear the people on the other end of the table.

Not impressed. They could do better with what they have.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_T_Bops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tasty, casual Italian”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Perfect for a girlfriends dinner on a rainy evening. The service was very friendly, we didn't feel rushed, and we enjoyed everything we ordered--from salad and pasta to wine. My pasta dish had Italian sausage and a light cream sauce. It was to die for.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sisterchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine and great service”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Our family went and really enjoyed the meal.

I had a homemade pasta that included tomato and zucchini. We also had lasagne, a spicy pasta and calamari. All were excellent.

The prosecco was good as was a glass of red wine we tried.

We sampled three desserts: panna cotta (good but raspberry sauce had no flavor), chocolate cake taht was hot with vanilla gelato, and an apple pie with gelato. All yummy.

It's a very pretty restaurant. A little louder than we would have liked. Service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaloVerdeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Caveat Emptor”
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Vero used to be the best authentic Italian food around. But the last few times we were there someone at the table got seafood and it was terrible. It was not fresh at all. The pastas were OK, but there are just too many missed on the menu. Don't know what happened, but I hope they get back to their former greatness.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelEatRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vero also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Vero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing