We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vandaloo is worth trying!”

Darbar Indian Cuisine
Ranked #65 of 361 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stanford, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Vandaloo is worth trying!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Authentic Indian restaurant. My Indian friend brought me here and told me it was one of his favorites around the area. I tried vindaloos, tikka maksala, and many other things but vindaloos here are still my favorite up to date!

The atmosphere is also pretty nice to just sit and chill for a while!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shargul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Have to say I've eaten my fair share of Indian cuisine lunch buffets in my time. The highlights for me at Darbar- cleanliness, service, naan supply. Main thing I like about this buffet is the dishes all taste like they were made separately, ie. not just a different meat with the same "base" sauce.

Main detractions: overwhelmingly under-spiced

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent indian”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is considered an average - even above average - indian restaurant for the area. Compared to all the expensive restaurants a block away on University Ave, Darbar keeps its prices at the same level as the 90's. There's a very decent lunch buffet, and a generally northern indian menu. The southern indian portion is only average by the standards of Sunnyvale, 15 minutes away, but are OK. The only menu standout is the Vindaloo, which isn't british hot but is deep and satisfying (and has a serious kick). A very decent neighborhood spot at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

In full disclosure, I am not an Indian food connoisseur. I loved Darbar. Samosas were yummy. I ordered a vegetarian dish that was rich with flavor. My husband ordered lamb that was tender with very little fat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian food”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Delicious dishes at a very reasonable price. I wen there with a group of 10 people so we got to try several dishes. Every one was really good

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaime N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darbar Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Darbar Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing