We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in Palo Alto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here for a total of 9 nights. The hotel is located conveniently off El Camino Real, only a few miles from downtown Palo Alto. We chose this hotel because we believed it would give us a nice balance between cost and quality. And this was indeed the case. Our overall impression was that it was a clean, friendly and comfortable environment. The hotel grounds are lush and excellently landscaped. Rooms were clean and spacious, and the free wifi excellent. The hotel has many amenities, including a very nice pool area and a more than adequate fitness room. There is also a small supermarket and a restaurant/bar adjacent to the hotel. Hotel staff was friendly. Guests were also offered a happy hour with a couple of free glasses of wine. The included breakfast is continental, which in this case meant pastries and coffee/tea. Hotels in Palo Alto are generally quite expensive and you don't always get what you pay for. This hotel represents an excellent value and will be our first choice on our next visit.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SEJAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We've been staying here for 15 years and sorry to say this visit might have been our last. The room was hot and smelled like dirty feet when we opened the door! A/c on low at least would have been nice. Bedding also did not smell fresh. Cosmetic updates were superficial and spotty- a real remodel with quality finishes new bedding and shampooed carpet is what might make it worth $170/night. Topping it off we were charged a $75 / room deposit for "in case we want room service" though they had a credit card number. Finally, no pool towels, 3 sets of bath linens in a 4-person room... Just more like an inexpensive motel. Grounds were pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laxmom93001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are disappointed to read that you found our accommodations to be short of your expectations. We continue to upgrade the exterior and interior of our hotel and will definitely advise our housekeeping department regarding your input. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Thank you,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We just returned from a very pleasant weekend stay in Palo Alto at the Creekside Inn. We booked our stay based on TripAdvisor ratings and on a recommendation from a Stanford alum. The grounds were very green and tranquil, and the front desk staff member who checked us in was very polite, friendly, and helpful. Our room was more than big enough for the two of us and had everything we needed. (Complimentary bottled water was a very nice touch, especially as it was extremely hot during our stay.) I appreciated the efforts by the proprietors to be green -- it went beyond the usual "let us know if you need new sheets/towels every day" and extended to eco-friendly bath products. Our 2nd floor room was quiet, and we found ample parking. We didn't take advantage of the shuttle service or the morning tea & coffee service, but we appreciated that they were there. About a 35-minute walk from Stanford Stadium. Our only regret is that we came on such a blazingly hot weekend, so the creek was dried out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrissyR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy that you found the Creekside Inn via recommendation by a Stanford alum and also by our ratings on Tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us for your weekend getaway and that you appreciated the many amenities we offer including hybrid shuttle service. We continue to try and be a green hotel and we are glad that you appreciated our efforts. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Creekside Inn in Palo Alto is a strikingly beautiful and relaxing place to stay close to Stanford University. Waterfalls and lush gardens full of colorful flowers dot the property, so make sure to take time to walk around and explore the grounds. More importantly, the rooms we stayed in (122 and 123) were newly furnished, spotless (including the bathrooms), and comfortable. The special touches mentioned in other reviews (such as natural toiletries, including lip balm!) were fantastic. My only caveat is that being on the first floor, we were able to hear noise from the people above. But they were mostly just walking around. Overall the entire complex was quiet and peaceful. I have to compliment Christine, one of the managers. She was super helpful at check-in and really set the tone for the warmth and care we received from all of the staff we encountered. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was delicious! Lastly, I want to say that we were truly just seven minutes from campus, which proved helpful when we had run back to the hotel to get something we forgot for our son's dorm!

Room Tip: We loved the rooms we had near the creek bed (even though the water wasn't flowing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveandLive2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I would have defintely been happier if i paid atleast $250/night lesser for this property. At this price, i definitely expect better.
No complimentary breakfast :(
with me being disabled, the staff did not even help put my luggage into the shuttle :(

Plus - definitely ok if costs me lesser or abt 150$ ; internet connection is good ; complimentary water bottles; organic soaps & shampoo

Room Tip: choose rooms near creek side ; rather than road side or deli side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madhumathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Palo Alto Hotel rates midweek are very high and we feel that we are priced fairly compare to the other hotels in the area for a Jr. Suite. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary WiFi, bottled water and eco-friendly bath products. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly review it with all our associates to ensure that they are more attentive to our customer’s needs. Although we do not offer complimentary breakfast, we have two Food and Beverage outlets in the hotel that offer a variety of meals and snacks. There is also complimentary coffee in the morning in the lobby for the convenience of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great location, close to Stanford, we were there for a campus tour. Peaceful grounds, true to its name with creek running through the back door. Excellent customer service that aims to please and be helpful. They upgraded our room to accomodate our family of 5 without us even asking since there was an available room and they recognized our quarters might be a little tight. In the morning, I asked the person at the front desk where to go for a run and he gave me an excellent suggestion of a nearby trail.

Room Tip: rooms by creek are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Creekside Inn. We are happy that your visit to Stanford and our hotel was very positive. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your morning run at one of the nearby trails and that the room upgrade was up to your standards. Thank you for choosing the Creekside Inn. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I found this little gem via Yelp where it receives consistently high marks. Though located on El Camino Real most rooms face a beautiful, quiet garden area away from the street. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful, especially Solomon who went out of his way to make our stay pleasant. Our deluxe queen suite had a sitting area and private patio facing the dry creek. Cibo's Restaurant & Bar offers a varied menu, with complimentary wine tastings some evenings. We especially enjoyed our breakfasts there--try the Santa Fe Fritata. With a deli and convenience store just a few steps away, we had everything we needed. A great place to stay in Palo Alto!

Room Tip: The queen suite has a large sitting area with a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milehisteve69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,045 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
2.4 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-2702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £79 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a charming boutique hotel in beautiful Palo Alto, California. Set along a scenic creek and gardens, the Creekside Inn offers contemporary accommodations, meeting rooms and event space, electric vehicle charging stations, on-site dining, an outdoor heated pool and a local hybrid car shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing