We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little inn in Palo Alto”
Review of Creekside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Creekside Inn
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little inn in Palo Alto”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Creekside Inn while visiting my sister who was in the hospital at Stanford. I often ate at the restaurant and found both the inn and restaurant staff courteous and friendly, Shuttle service to the hospital was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We wish your sister well and hope that she is out of the hospital by now. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we are so pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay. Our complimentary Hybrid shuttle service is one of our most user-friendly and popular amenities among our guests. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    227
    76
    34
    17
See reviews for
168
124
48
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed here while my husband had heart surgery @ Stanford. Unfortunately I broke my wrist at the hospital parking lot and the staff @ the Creekside bent over backwards to help me in any way they could. Very pleasant environs and nice neighborhood for morning walks too. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Lhaumann,
Thank you so much for your great review and for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. I hope that you and your husband are doing well and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel including our convenient location just minutes from Stanford Medical Center. it is a great compliment to our associates that you recognized their dedicated and personalized service in your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Creekside Inn is directly on a very busy road and looks like a motor inn from the 1950's--which essentially it is. The creek in the name has dried up since all of California is currently in a drought. Our room was oddly decorated with a random armchair sitting in a corner with a light but no table and a big section of the room just completely empty.

BUT there are many reasons to recommend this hotel. The owners have obviously made the grounds a priority--beautiful flowers and trees, along with charming benches and tables make it a little oasis right off the highway. Towels are not fluffy but are plenty big, and toiletries are good quality. The room includes a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Beds were good quality and the A/C worked fine. We had a little balcony off our room that had chairs for reading and overlooking the garden space. Breakfast is ho-hum with average pastries and coffee, but the staff was friendly. There are other nearby options for breakfast if processed sugar and white flour doesn't float your boat.

Overall, a decent hotel with lovely gardens. We spent 2 nights there and would happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room set back from El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Julie_7070,
Thank you for your review and for being our guest. We're glad you enjoyed our well-kept, and beautiful grounds just off the busy El Camino Real, as well as our comfortable beds and many amenities including our spa products and in-room coffee maker. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff who look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Palo Alto.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I spent 2 nights at this complex and really enjoyed the place. I was pleasantly surprised by the beauty and quietness. The grounds were nice to walk in. A restaurant and small shop were close to the property. And there were lots of places to run for my early morning runs. The morning snacks are just fruit and muffins and sweets, minimal, along with coffee of course. However, 5 days a week there is also a free wine tasting at the nearby restaurant. That was a nice surprise. The rooms are large and there is seating right outside the door. I think this is very a affordable and pleasant place to stay in the Palo Alto area. The wifi worked well too and was free!

Room Tip: I was in building H on the top floor and can recommend that.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was impressed by the products and the philosophy of the hotel towards the environment.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sally47,
We are delighted that you found so many things that accommodated your daily routine at the Creekside Inn. We are glad you enjoyed quiet and beautiful grounds, our complimentary evening wine hour, and our great value. We're also happy to read that you were able to go out for your morning runs on some of our nearby trails. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experiences at the hotel and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekisde Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice experience, would stay there again, not a 5 star hotel but certainly one of the best you will find in the area, would recommend.

VERY CLEAN

VERY FRIENDLY STAFF

A+

They put the AC right under curtains, so if you plan to use it you may not have privacy.

If you are taller than 5 10 you will hit your head on the shower everytime, tiny clearance.

otherwise Super clean and friendly.

Green Features: Lot of recyclables if your into that, pretty cool.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerworld2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Good things first: The reception staff is great, very friendly, efficient and very helpful!

One cannot say that about the cleaning staff though, which ignored "do not disturb signs" and dirt equally. The check out receptionist apologized for that though and gave me a cut on the rate, which was very much appreciated, but I would have preferred a clean room.

The hotel is basically a spruced up old motel and might be THE place to stay when you are visiting nearby Stanford university, but for a business trip I didn't find it particularly suitable.

Room Tip: ask for a room to the back of the property away from the street
See more room tips
Green Features: plus point for the hotel - only the towels on the floor were removed and the ones on the rack actually stayed on the rack, which I hardly ever find even if hotels promote their environment pracies
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Hippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear 2Hippos,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the hotel. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful reception staff and we're glad to read that you found our hotel to be "THE" hotel for visiting nearby Stanford University. We are disappointed to read that our housekeeping department failed to observe the house rules regarding the Do Not Disturb sign and we will be sure to address your comments with our staff. We are glad that we were able to make up for this shortfall during the check-out process. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is really a beautiful hotel! The room allows to work (there is free internet access and a large desk), has a refrigerator, TV, a nice arm chair, a terrace, enough storage for more than you will probably carry with you. The view from the terrace to the creek and all the trees and flowers is delightful! Everything is nicely decorated in a kind of Japanese style with laterns and little water places, a wooden bridge and a wind chime. A peaceful and enjoyable place!
There is a gym and a pool. There is also a laundry service for the guests and a store with almost everything for everyday life. Over the street, there is a bakery and a bit further an excellent Indian restaurant. The hotel also has a restaurant which offers free wine testing.
The personnel is helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: terrace to the creek, e.g., 117 -- 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharinaMorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
1.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
949 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
612 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
394 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Property: Creekside Inn
Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-2702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creekside Inn - a Greystone Hotel - is a charming 136 room hotel located in the heart of California’s Silicon Valley, 2 miles from downtown Palo Alto and Stanford University. Situated on 3.5 beautifully landscaped acres, our guest rooms and suites are nestled in a park-like, creek side setting. Choose from standard, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as suites with kitchens. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, the Creekside Inn represents value that’s truly a find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing