We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our second visit and it was terrific”
Review of Cardinal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cardinal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
new jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is our second visit and it was terrific”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is a small hotel right in downtown Palo Alto, We had two graduations at Stanford and it was absolutely the best place to stay. It is in walking distance to everywhere.

There is no airconditioning, but there are ceiling fans and fans provided. We were there when is was 90 degrees and were fine with the fans. I would suggest asking for room away from the side street (Ramona).

This is a great place, extremely clean, accomodating and friendly. The manager, Stephanie was particularly helpful arranging for 15 of us to stay

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdavit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    79
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
29
28
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My wife and I have visited the Cardinal Hotel annually over the past ten years or so, on the heels of our very first stay there way back in December of 1988! Since we both had lived in Palo Alto for brief periods of time in the past, the Cardinal really feels like home away from home to us. In many ways it has the air of a stately European hotel, including a welcoming lobby where daily newspapers and recent periodicals are provided along with coffee, tea and hot chocolate! Although we loved the original feel, a significant financial investment was made over the past few years to completely remodel the bedrooms and bathrooms. Having witnessed the changes from year to year, this remodeling was a complete success in our way of thinking, in preserving the original style and tenor, while upgrading the fixtures and amenities to modern specifications. Its downtown location is also ideal for visiting some of our favorite haunts in P.A. (restaurants, stores, brewpubs, etc.) without having to bother with a car. I would be remiss if I did not mention the fantastic staff at the Cardinal who really go out of their way to accommodate us. Bob Davis has been manning the front desk for more years that I can recall, and he always tries to get us the very best room that is available. His extensive knowledge about Palo Alto and the surrounding area (both historical and current) and his lengthy employment at the Cardinal make him a integral and invaluable fixture there and a special part of our experience with them. His kind friendship is yet one extra special reason why we will continue to stay at the Cardinal whenever we are in Palo Alto. Finally, the room rates are very reasonable compared to other places in the Peninsula.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwlaclaire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We spent several nights here in April. It was comfortable though a bit nois on the AM when garbage trucks started collecting trash in the alley our room overlooked. Would be hot in the summer without air conditioning

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This hotel cannot be beat for both price and location. I have had to stay in Palo Alto, near the hospital, several times lately due to an illness in the family. I found The Cardinal Hotel completely by chance on my first visit to the area and am now a loyal patron. I have always had a room with a shared bath. The standards of cleanliness couldn't be higher, the staff is great and the location is the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The Cardinal is as charming as it looks on the hotel website, and was very pleasant for my multi-day stay.

Not obvious from the website: stairs at one corner of the lobby lead up to a mezzanine and a spacious public room with a conference table, several couches and chairs, bookshelves complete with books, two desks with PCs, and an attached kitchenette. The PCs had free internet access. Wi-fi access in the rooms/lobby was $5 per 24 hours and worked quite well.

My room was immaculate, with an updated bathroom. No air conditioning in the rooms, but there is a ceiling fan, and the windows (which open!) have plantation style shutters. I did not need the little extra oscillating fan stashed in the closet.

For those who might choose the European-style "shared bathroom," those too, are immaculate.

I would definitely choose the Cardinal again. It is an old-fashioned hotel in a vibrant neighborhood, with a Whole Foods as well as a public transportation hub within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttaabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I had an longish stay at the Cardinal hotel (about 12 days) and I enjoyed the stay there. It is ideally located close to the most 'happening' places in Palo Alto.I had read some reviews about the hotel here before I chose the place. Not all reviews had been complimentary. However, the staff and the Hotel itself made me feel at home and I was very comfortable at the Cardinal. Wireless Internet came at 5 $ per day and was pretty fast. The University avenue is just a few steps away and there are many restaurants to choose from. Coffee and Tea are available 24x7 at the lobby. An ironing board and iron were available in the room itself which was a big help. I only wish that there would have been a small refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: The restaurant attached serves good breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabharim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I stayed in The Cardinal hotel for 10 days whilst visiting Stanford university. Hotel dates back to 1920' and has a wonderful vintage ambience of style and comfort. My room was very clean and well taken care of by the cleaning staff. Receptionists were very attentive, polite and helpful. They don't have a breakfast room, but there is an excellent French-style Bistro Maxime and a very popular Italian restaurant Osteria next door. I visited both and they were very good. Hotel serves various blends of fresh coffee all day. Customers can rent a fridge to the room or store food in the fridge in the small kitchenette in the spacious and comfortable combination of a business-center, library and dining room available for customers. Hotel is located very conveniently in downtown Palo Alto yet within easy bike trip from university. They even stores customer bikes. I enjoyed my stay very much and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Stanford university or Palo Alto for business or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keen
Hotel Keen
#16 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel

Property: Cardinal Hotel
Address: 235 Hamilton Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cardinal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm in vibrant downtown Palo Alto. Built in 1924, the Cardinal was Palo Alto’s premiere Hotel. Today the ambiance remains; the gracious lobby still provides a delightful glimpse of Old Palo Alto. Enjoy the hotel’s warm atmosphere and proximity to world class dining, shopping and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing