We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Well-Located”
Review of Cardinal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cardinal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Davis, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming and Well-Located”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent Saturday night at this vintage hotel in downtown Palo Alto. The hotel is beautifully restored. Our room was small but really comfortable. We spent a few hours reading in the comfortable lobby. Lisa, the friendly desk clerk, made us feel very welcome. Because it was the weekend, we were able to park our car for free in the city garage across the street. The hotel is not air-conditioned and it was a warm day, but we left the window open and were comfortable. Our room faced Ramona street and the noise bothered me a little. I could have closed the window. It was so nice to be right downtown with the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryellen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    79
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
29
28
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

As long as you don't stay here in the heat of the summer, my wife and I find The Cardinal a great place to stay in Palo Alto. The place is a bit dated but that is part of the charm. the staff is warm and friendly. We have been coming here on and off for 28 years and have never had a problem.

We always stay somewhere else in the warmer months though...we are just too used to A/C.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evac93rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutry, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My Thursday night stay was brief but absolutely charming. Like a step back in time. Nicely refinished bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The noise from the adjacent pub was gone by 11pm and I had no trouble sleeping with the window open. You can't beat this price for an excellent central Palo Alto location. And breakfast at Peninsula Creamery next door is also a treat. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking inwards for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRailingSp0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We went to a soccer game at Stanford Statium and needed to find a place to stay for the weekend and what luck, we found the Cardinal, It's a great place to stay, the rooms are very clean and the staff are very nice. It reminds me of a european style hotel, some of the rooms have to share a shower and bathroom. We did not as it was clearly stated which rooms had private facilities and picked one of those. A very convienient location, close to everything and the surrounding neigborhood has great places for food and drinks. During the week parking can be very tricky but on the weekends free parking is available at a nearby parking garage. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher corner rooms are quieter and if you are a couple try the deluxe room. It's located at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I would say I had an acceptable week-long stay at the Cardinal. The room was affordable and had everything I needed for a business visit to the area. However, there was nothing stellar about the staff or rooms that is worth noting. Plus the charge for the wifi was freaking annoyin......

Here is a summary of what I liked:
- Fun, historic hotel.
- Simple but well equipped rooms.
- GREAT location in downtown Palo Alto, near Caltrain, shopping, restaurants, etc.

And disliked:
- $5 for wifi access is redic in Silicon Valley, come on.
- Desk staff seems annoyed when you ask to store your luggage, check-out, check-in, whatever. It's just not welcoming.
- No AC (though they did have a ceiling fan), which was fine for the week I was there. I imagine it would be rough on the 3rd floor on hot summer nights - though I know that those are fairly rare on this part of the peninsula.

Anyway, I would stay again just because of the location and the great rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Clean, but minimal amenities. Staff was professional, but less than friendly. Lack of air conditioning required open window, but outside noise from adjacent pub made sleep difficult. Don't pay extra for the breakfast. Restaurant (Maxine's) is not part of hotel and the food is very poor. Parking requires searching for an open space on the street or one of the nearby public lots, and is limited to 2 hour increments between 8am and 5pm.

Room Tip: Make sure room includes bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was by far the cleanest hotel, with so much charm and character.
I liked being able to walk all over Palo Alto - I suspect on the weekends it could be loud, but we were there mid-week and it was fine.

A very cool hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
386 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keen
Hotel Keen
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel

Property: Cardinal Hotel
Address: 235 Hamilton Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cardinal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm in vibrant downtown Palo Alto. Built in 1924, the Cardinal was Palo Alto’s premiere Hotel. Today the ambiance remains; the gracious lobby still provides a delightful glimpse of Old Palo Alto. Enjoy the hotel’s warm atmosphere and proximity to world class dining, shopping and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing