We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good balance of old charm and modern amenities”
Review of Cardinal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cardinal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

If you are charmed by old style (as I am) this is a very cool hotel, since it also has modern amenities like an updated bathroom, new carpet, direct USB charging plugs, flat screen tv, and free wifi. It's a great balance, in my mind, of keeping some old touches without feeling outdated at all. Clearly all the decisions about what to keep have been thoughtfully made (lobby with fireplace, hefty door frames, smallish rooms).

I agree the noise is quite loud, both within the hotel and from the street. I don't suggest staying here if you are a light sleeper. I do suggest it if you like places that have some style and "feel".

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Cardinal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

Centre of town ye olde world charm.
Comfortable, friendly and down to earth. Only minus was the noise from rowdy students (I guess) at closing time in the nearby bars - nothing I haven't heard from staying in UK and not the problem of hotel. Walking distance to cal train station and in centre of town, positives far out weigh negatives. Shared bathrooms, old elevators and no frills add to the charm and character of the place - I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertULondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The Cardinal hotel is in great position, in easy walking distance of the lovely Palo Alto and restaurants. The hotel is functional, comfortable and clean...its just a bit dreary and old. The bedding could certainly do with being freshened up. The staff barely acknowledge you as you walk in and out and would be nicer if they could rustle up a smile or "good morning" every now and again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two weeks. Service, security, and etc are good. Historically old hotel. At the center of Palo Alto. There are a lot of cafes around. 5 minutes walk to the train station. All is OK.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile


We stayed at the hotel while attending wedding functions for a niece. The hotel was small and charming altho a little worn around the edges. However, it was in a very lively area of restaurants and bars which we enjoyed with other guests. The personnel at the hotel were very accomodating and friendly. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackpine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Hotel is very well located and it is charming. The staff seemed weary and less than pleased to greet us, which later made sense.

When I got back from dinner, I noticed that it was very loud outside my window. I looked out and realized that the room faces an alley lined with dumpsters used by the nearby restaurants and bars. Noise from the street, bars and alley ricochet around the alley all night. At midnight I went down to complain and saw in the poor woman's face that she deals with this on a regular basis. She mechanically offered me free earplugs.

I was awoken multiple times throughout the night - trucks backing up in the alley, barbacks throwing bags full of bottles away, etc. Someone's drilling as I write this at 6am.

Definitely recommend staying somewhere else while in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not face the alley
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank New_Yorker_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent Saturday night at this vintage hotel in downtown Palo Alto. The hotel is beautifully restored. Our room was small but really comfortable. We spent a few hours reading in the comfortable lobby. Lisa, the friendly desk clerk, made us feel very welcome. Because it was the weekend, we were able to park our car for free in the city garage across the street. The hotel is not air-conditioned and it was a warm day, but we left the window open and were comfortable. Our room faced Ramona street and the noise bothered me a little. I could have closed the window. It was so nice to be right downtown with the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryellen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
659 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel

Address: 235 Hamilton Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £99 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cardinal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm in vibrant downtown Palo Alto. Built in 1924, the Cardinal was Palo Alto’s premiere Hotel. Today the ambiance remains; the gracious lobby still provides a delightful glimpse of Old Palo Alto. Enjoy the hotel’s warm atmosphere and proximity to world class dining, shopping and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing