We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Cardinal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cardinal Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here when bringing our son to look at Stanford. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Palo Alto. There are several restaurants and shops nearby and the lively evening scene is worth exploring. On the downside, if you have rented a car, the hotel offers no parking. You have to use the municipal lot across the street and it limits parking to 3 hours from 8-3. (So not a problem if you arrive in the evening and drive over to the campus for a morning tour.). The hotel has been renovated but has stayed true to its 1950s feel. While the rooms are comfortable, clean and offer wifi, the old cage elevator remains and guests are given actual keys rather than plastic cards. Price-wise, the Cardinal is far cheaper than the high end chains present in the Palo Alto area but much more than Comfort Inn. If you want to be downtown, find old hotels charming and either don't have a rental or don't mind playing parking space roulette, it is a worthy option if in Palo Alto.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Cardinal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is very "retro, including the elevator. Excellent location downtown Palo Alto, walking distance to campus. Many rooms have shared bathroom facilities but some are en suite. Nice b'fast crepe place nearly next door.
Downside is that there is a lot of street nice from traffic and people. I was booked on a weekend so perhaps especially so, even on the 3rd floor. One of the cabinets in the room had ear plugs for guests, so this must be a common problem.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are rooms not facing the street but if I were going again I would ask.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hashihime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is an excellent location, close to Stanford, its margeuritte shuttle service, Caltrain and surrounded by university ave and as well close to the whole foods market, fraiche and traditional diners. Next door there is a terrific manicure/pedicure shop too. The hotel has generously sized and well fitted public rooms and the accommodation in the double rooms with bathrooms is excellent. Facing Ramona Ave can be noisy at night and running the ceiling fan provides some good balancing white noise! Second visit here and totally satisfied. It can be difficult to get in, so book early.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peripateticce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

location, location. Can beat this one! Even though there were now private bath or toilet!! Well it was no problem at all. The room were very nice, the beds, pillows and duvets you wanted to take home:) Don't let the shared bath and toilet scare you away

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Couldn't be happier. Love your hotel and your staff. Requested a feather-free, scent-free room due to asthma. It was almost perfect but the bedding was infused with a scent that bothered me the first night. Spoke with Ninfa who identified it as coming from the dryer sheets. She rewashed sheets, pillowcases, a blanket and a bedspread, remade our bed and it was perfect the next night! Her kindness and willingness to go above and beyond matches the wonderful ambiance that you have created in your "home away from home". You keep the lobby warm and wonderful, with a fire crackling in the fireplace, really good coffee, tea and hot cocoa, a variety of local and national newspapers, cozy arm chairs and sofas, a chess set, checkers set, old-fashioned phone booth (where I actually went in to take a call) and a bonus library up the staircase from the lobby. This visit to our son in school actually felt like a vacation in an old, gracious estate house. Plus the staff members we met were friendly, helpful, attentive and engaged us in interesting conversation. Thank you and we look forward to our next visit with you!

Room Tip: If you want an interesting view of Palo Alto, since you are right downtown, expect noise at night fr...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redwhiteandblue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Location is great for Palo Alto, close to all amenities and the centre of town. Service was good. Staff was warm and friendly. Needs air conditioning though ... gets hot and stuffy in the room. Loved the room though. Nice warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: The hotel is in the town centre, thus there are some noise. Not intrusive though. I really enjoyed t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anelle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I choose the Cardinal every time because of the great value, clean rooms, quiet, and excellent location. It is now part of my experience each time I head back to visit Stanford. This visit, I was given a room along the stair well - super! The shared bathrooms were spotless as usual. I also value the on-site coin laundry and the all-day coffee and tea in the cozy lobby is always a welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndependentSightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
659 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel

Address: 235 Hamilton Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £99 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cardinal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm in vibrant downtown Palo Alto. Built in 1924, the Cardinal was Palo Alto’s premiere Hotel. Today the ambiance remains; the gracious lobby still provides a delightful glimpse of Old Palo Alto. Enjoy the hotel’s warm atmosphere and proximity to world class dining, shopping and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing