We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rowdy street noise”
Review of Cardinal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cardinal Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
A TripAdvisor Member
“Rowdy street noise”
Reviewed 27 March 2006

We should not have been shocked, but were, when we were awoken at 1 am with drunken college students leaving the bars on the street. Yes, it was nice to be in town, but we learned our lesson.

All else was okay.

  • Stayed April 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    86
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
30
28
46
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2006

The location of this hotel can't be beat--right in the middle of downtown PA. Lots of shops, restaurants around and very close to Stanford U. The hotel has a wonderful old world charm. The lobby is beautiful. The rooms are quite nice, but there is no air conditioning so it was a bit too hot in the summer by the afternoons. Ceiling fans help. The front desk staff was somewhat helpful though not too friendly. Nice offering of tea and hot choc in the lobby. I woudl stay here again but not during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 December 2005

We stayed in the Cardinal Hotel two nights for Christmas to visit with family in the area. Overall, I would recommend it for the bargain traveler who is not high maintenance. We were able to get a $55 per night rate through hotels.com by taking a room with a shared bathroom. The bathroom was located in a hall and nicely remodeled and never occupied when we wanted to use it. There were two restrooms and shower rooms on the floor, along with a laundry room and soda machine. (I was uncertain if all the rooms on that floor shared the bathrooms, or if some of the rooms had private baths.) The location can't be beat, right in the middle of downtown Palo Alto which is super cute with lots of shops and restos. The location alone made this hotel worth it. The only problem we had was a sort of stale smell in our hotel room, but after the first night we asked them when they cleaned the room if they could do something for it, and when we returned later that night, the smell was gone. Also, there was no hairdryer or iron in the room, but there may have been some available somewhere else - we never asked. There is a sink in the room, with soap and shampoo and towels, etc. plus in the closet we had two extra pillows and an extra blanket. There are rooms with a private shower, too, by the way, but they were more than double the price of the one we got, and since we were visiting family and wouldn't be in the hotel much, it really didn't matter to us. One other item: Since the hotel is downtown, there is no parking lot, but you can park free of charge on the street or in underground lots, but the trick is there is a three-hour limit. We never really had a problem with this, but I guess you might need to find somewhere else to park if you needed to leave the car somewhere all day.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Thomas, Ky.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2005

From the smell of mold and mildew in the hallway, to the poorly lit, incredibly small bathroom, this hotel is well past it's prime. Adding insult to injury is an extremely front desk manager. I actually moved before spending one night. God only knows what the linens are like! Beware!!

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gtmFt.Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2003

Fabulous location right in downtown Palo Alto, with a great lobby to sit in or meet guests. Rooms with a shared bath (clean, well-kept, and always available when I wanted it) are one of the best deals in Palo Alto.

Helpful?
8 Thank Back2Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
399 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Hotel

Property: Cardinal Hotel
Address: 235 Hamilton Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cardinal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Old World charm in vibrant downtown Palo Alto. Built in 1924, the Cardinal was Palo Alto’s premiere Hotel. Today the ambiance remains; the gracious lobby still provides a delightful glimpse of Old Palo Alto. Enjoy the hotel’s warm atmosphere and proximity to world class dining, shopping and Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Cardinal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing