We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
821
290
77
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
821
290
77
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolside restauranttrader vicskoi fishsteam showerexercise bikepool sidean oasiswater featuresel caminobeautiful groundschain hotelssilicon valleyrooms are largeold schoolking bedfront desk staffparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
1,102 - 1,107 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is our second stay at Dinah's in Palo Alto. We come here from Texas to visit family and it is very conveniently located to where they all are. More important, this is a charming, small hotel with the feeling of an foreign inn, with fire places in the rooms and windows overlooking a lovely koi pond. Modest exercise equipment in the room (great for the business traveler), comfortable beds and a Trader Vic's next door for dinner or room service. And you don't have to stop to take out a bank loan when it comes time to check out. How can you ask for more!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the koi ponds; not all do.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moose1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Amazing setting in a setting of ponds, fountains, ducks and goldfish. Rooms are large with all the amenities renovated with a hint of 70s kitch. Comfortable and quiet with the sound of the water in the background.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens and pond.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank impkokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

i know i am coming here as a b*
well , if i had paid 69 dollars a night here ok. but 259? and for stepping up to motel six style run down hotel.
guys wake up i know its menlo park i know its area that money is not a problem. but this was abuse.
i was sharing with the front desk girl the nightmare sleepless night i had with that a/c unit which needs to be going to a museum.
she was saying "why didn't you let us know w e have new rooms with bath and build in a/c unit" well lady why didn't you give it to me at the first place.

she told me that the price i paid is more than what they the hotel, sold the room last night. pissed me off galore!!
don't use cheaptickets they are cheating as they booked a standard room with the hotel and when i booked i upgraded to better room and paid extra 35 dollars for what? the bath room was motel 6 style no bath just yucky shower.
i am sorry but it was awful. i will never stay at that hotel . but if you are reading this line and looking for room in palo alto . good luck. the area has a gold mind hotel rooms. and they are selling it high as can be. and giving you as little as can be.
happy holiday. the life on the road so many frogs...smiling


CheapTickets record locator PBCTIX8040260404
To make changes to your trip, go to Trip details
Your current trip cost
Hotel
Nights: 1
Guests: 2
Rooms: 1 $209.00
Taxes and fees $26.54
Total due at booking
Best Price Guarantee $235.54

facts and promises are not the same thing for them . i am not smiling!!

Room Tip: please please sleep in the car..
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is coming from the person who slept through a fire alarm as a child and has not problem sleeping anywhere anytime....this hotel is LOUD!! This is night 1 or 2 for me and I am giving it another chance but I was woken up around 4AM by my neighbor rustling around in his or her room, people rolling bags down the stairs (no elevator), and trucks driving by the in the parking lot. They need to do something to soundproof their rooms!! Otherwise, the room is decent...nothing special but comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klubner22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed here because of its location relative to the Stanford campus and the Cal-Train. While not as convenient as the Sheraton Palo Alto, it was less than 1/2 the price. To get to/from Stanford, the Marguerite (Stanford's free shuttle) picks up at El Camino Real and Maybell Ave. approximate 3-4 blocks away. The Marguerite only runs Mon-Sat and once an hour or so, so sometimes its more convenient to just take a cab. Check the Stanford website for schedule.

Hotel itself was clean and very tropical-feeling. Room (Garden Room) was smaller than average but didn't feel cramped or cluttered at all with two people. Bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom was a good size, well-appointed and had a beautiful marble standup shower and large sink. We were on the second floor and had a large, vine-covered balcony overlooking the pool which was nice to sit on in the mornings with a cup of coffee.

Trader Vic's is nice but on the pricey side but there are many restaurants of varying price ranges and cuisines that are convenient to get to. Hobee's across the street and down the block to the right is a Great place for breakfast/brunch.

Check-in staff were very helpful and professional. The only issue we experienced was the morning we checked-out. We planned to leave a little early (around 7am) and called the front desk to request a cab. When we reached the front desk approximately 10 minutes later, the clerk was clearly in the middle of a personal call on his cell phone. While not very professional, he did interrupt his call to check us out. We waited another 10 minutes or so in the lobby. When no taxi had arrived I went back to the clerk to ask if he knew anything about the taxi. He replied that he hadn't called one yet and asked if we still wanted it... Seriously?! YES! We've got a train to catch! I guess everyone focuses on the first impressions and neglects the last impressions. At any rate, even with this last and only frustration, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel next time I was in this part of the world. Wonderful little gem.

Room Tip: Garden Room had a nice balcony and pool view. Open hallways can be noisy at times.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank map2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews