We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silicon Valley deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Silicon Valley deal”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Decent size rooms, set back off a busy street keep things tranquil and all at a resonable price. There's a poolside restaraunt so convenient for breakfast. I can't think of any negatives....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    240
    65
    21
    14
See reviews for
253
179
63
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Wonderful - ponds and walks and ducks and Koi and the sound of water bubbling, Fuji applies in the lobby and in the room as well as Ghiradelli chocolates in the room each day, the layout of the buildings means that it is a short walk to the lobby for your newspaper in the morning or to the small, but adequate gym.- 2 packets of regular coffee and one of decaf each day in the room - coffee pot, large enough fridge supplied- our room had two doors, one that lead out to the pool area and one to the parking lot, parking was right outside the door, there was a knife and assortment of glasses in the room lots of storage and good wifi provided. The staff were exceptional and pleasant and helpful.

not so great - there did not seem to be any water heat regulators in either room we were in so we got cold blasts of water in the shower if the upstairs people turned on their water while we were showering. - The TV's were the old style - not that they didn't work, there were lots of channel choices, but they were the old style and so was the a/c in the first room and the radio, the weighing scale in the gym was not digital so was waaaay out of accurate - the safe was so high up in the closet that I could not reach it and the room attendant missed some coffee splotches on the white coffee pot one day, and missed our chocolates one day - but other than that, and that was not awful, the inside and outside was really clean. There is a sign in the room that says to ask for any amenities that you left at home - I needed an emery board to correct a broken fingernail - one young fellow at the front desk didn't know what an emery board was, the room attendant didn't have anything that would add to the room - like a tiny toothpaste etc. if we had needed that and the best offer was that I could purchase a packet of them from the display case for about 2 - $3 - I bit the corner off and got some at a $ store !! - They placed a family with a small child in the room above us and we didn't sleep with the child crying and screaming from 10 pm - 4 am then they let it out of the playpen or whatever it was contained in, and it ran around the room until 6 am - the child didn't speak, it just ran around and shrieked - this and with them walking around in hard shoes - clumping - we told them at the desk each day and finally on the second to last night there, we were moved to a wonderful suite for one night sleep - we slept 12 hours around the clock and the last night was only half a night anyway as we had early flights -

With tax, we paid over $200 a night which was a lot - we might stay there again as they do offer on site restaurants and it is conveniently located, but as a travel agent, I can get a much better deal at so many close by hotels so I will have to weigh the pros and cons when the time comes. We are in that area often - (like every 6 - 8 weeks) and this is the nicest hotel we have stayed in but the price is way out of line compared to the neighbouring hotels - and they do not offer travel agent rates !!

If you have any problems while staying here - insist on talking to a manager right away as the staff is helpful and polite and considerate (the reasons I would stay there again) but they just do not have the ability to change your room without approval from the higher ups.

Room Tip: no elevator, but upper rooms HAVE to be quieter than lower ones - not enough insulation to keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilot Point, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is our second stay at Dinah's in Palo Alto. We come here from Texas to visit family and it is very conveniently located to where they all are. More important, this is a charming, small hotel with the feeling of an foreign inn, with fire places in the rooms and windows overlooking a lovely koi pond. Modest exercise equipment in the room (great for the business traveler), comfortable beds and a Trader Vic's next door for dinner or room service. And you don't have to stop to take out a bank loan when it comes time to check out. How can you ask for more!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the koi ponds; not all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moose1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Amazing setting in a setting of ponds, fountains, ducks and goldfish. Rooms are large with all the amenities renovated with a hint of 70s kitch. Comfortable and quiet with the sound of the water in the background.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the gardens and pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impkokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

i know i am coming here as a b*
well , if i had paid 69 dollars a night here ok. but 259? and for stepping up to motel six style run down hotel.
guys wake up i know its menlo park i know its area that money is not a problem. but this was abuse.
i was sharing with the front desk girl the nightmare sleepless night i had with that a/c unit which needs to be going to a museum.
she was saying "why didn't you let us know w e have new rooms with bath and build in a/c unit" well lady why didn't you give it to me at the first place.

she told me that the price i paid is more than what they the hotel, sold the room last night. pissed me off galore!!
don't use cheaptickets they are cheating as they booked a standard room with the hotel and when i booked i upgraded to better room and paid extra 35 dollars for what? the bath room was motel 6 style no bath just yucky shower.
i am sorry but it was awful. i will never stay at that hotel . but if you are reading this line and looking for room in palo alto . good luck. the area has a gold mind hotel rooms. and they are selling it high as can be. and giving you as little as can be.
happy holiday. the life on the road so many frogs...smiling



CheapTickets record locator PBCTIX8040260404
To make changes to your trip, go to Trip details
Your current trip cost
Hotel
Nights: 1
Guests: 2
Rooms: 1 $209.00
Taxes and fees $26.54
Total due at booking
Best Price Guarantee $235.54

facts and promises are not the same thing for them . i am not smiling!!

Room Tip: please please sleep in the car..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is coming from the person who slept through a fire alarm as a child and has not problem sleeping anywhere anytime....this hotel is LOUD!! This is night 1 or 2 for me and I am giving it another chance but I was woken up around 4AM by my neighbor rustling around in his or her room, people rolling bags down the stairs (no elevator), and trucks driving by the in the parking lot. They need to do something to soundproof their rooms!! Otherwise, the room is decent...nothing special but comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klubner22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed here because of its location relative to the Stanford campus and the Cal-Train. While not as convenient as the Sheraton Palo Alto, it was less than 1/2 the price. To get to/from Stanford, the Marguerite (Stanford's free shuttle) picks up at El Camino Real and Maybell Ave. approximate 3-4 blocks away. The Marguerite only runs Mon-Sat and once an hour or so, so sometimes its more convenient to just take a cab. Check the Stanford website for schedule.

Hotel itself was clean and very tropical-feeling. Room (Garden Room) was smaller than average but didn't feel cramped or cluttered at all with two people. Bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom was a good size, well-appointed and had a beautiful marble standup shower and large sink. We were on the second floor and had a large, vine-covered balcony overlooking the pool which was nice to sit on in the mornings with a cup of coffee.

Trader Vic's is nice but on the pricey side but there are many restaurants of varying price ranges and cuisines that are convenient to get to. Hobee's across the street and down the block to the right is a Great place for breakfast/brunch.

Check-in staff were very helpful and professional. The only issue we experienced was the morning we checked-out. We planned to leave a little early (around 7am) and called the front desk to request a cab. When we reached the front desk approximately 10 minutes later, the clerk was clearly in the middle of a personal call on his cell phone. While not very professional, he did interrupt his call to check us out. We waited another 10 minutes or so in the lobby. When no taxi had arrived I went back to the clerk to ask if he knew anything about the taxi. He replied that he hadn't called one yet and asked if we still wanted it... Seriously?! YES! We've got a train to catch! I guess everyone focuses on the first impressions and neglects the last impressions. At any rate, even with this last and only frustration, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel next time I was in this part of the world. Wonderful little gem.

Room Tip: Garden Room had a nice balcony and pool view. Open hallways can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank map2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Property: Dinah's Garden Hotel
Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing