We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We wouldn't have picked this hotel if not all of our usual go-to places had been booked because of WWDC. We picked it because of an overall good Tripadvisor rating but weren't expecting much. We were positively surprised. Now this is sure not the Garden Court, but we had spacy, nicely decorated rooms. The place is clean, the service and overall atmosphere is friendly, there's a little minibar in your room, and the Poolside breakfast was very good too. For business travellers on a budget or families on vacation, I would always recommend it.
It's a little off the beaten path - 15 min drive to downtown Palo Alto and about 25 mins to Sand Hill Road, so plan ahead if you have meetings there.

Room Tip: Get renovated rooms, away from El Camino Real. They also have executive suites that we didn't tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pg-bremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I found this place online and thought it looked and sounded like a quaint place to stay at a great value - and we were not disappointed! Dinah's is clean, quiet, has a very nice pool with garden setting and a restaurant onsite that served some of the best breakfast I've had at a hotel in a long time. We would definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We booked the double room with double beds - and came to heaven.

These executive suits are gigantic, fresh and really well planned.
Don't hesitate - they are worth every penny.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank peji70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Right near downtown Palo Alto is this little jem of a resort. The grounds are lush with ponds and waterfalls and fountains, and tons of trees. It feels like you are at some tropical resort somewhere. The rooms are large and clean, and there was even an exercise bike in my room, and two apples for snacks.

My friends wedding was based out of here last weekend, and the briday suite (room 660) was VERY nice, elegant, and large. Great for all of us bridesmaids getting ready for the wedding.

Trader Vics is also on the property - great food! And the poolside restaurant had a GREAT breakfast. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle's G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at Dinah's Garden in early May this year. Overall I found the hotel to be good, clean, comfortable and well-priced. The location worked well for me as it was close to where I was working.

My room was on the ground floor and faced onto the pool area. Parking was easy and right next to my room, so that made carrying luggage into the room easy. The room itself was nice and big, clean and nicely air-conditioned, without having a noisy a/c unit. The decor was fine, although the rooms felt a little bit dated, as did the bathrooms. That being said, the room was very comfortable, as was the bed. The rooms come with inclusive super-fast wifi which was great.

When I arrived on the Saturday afternoon, I could not get to eat until about 4-5pm which was when the restaurant opened. A minor point really.

The surrounding garden area around the complex is really lovely and relaxing and makes a welcome change from the normal concrete you get in most places.

Overall, I the hotel is good value for money, comfortable, well equipped and in a good location. It does feel like a cross between a motel and a hotel though. I would recommend it as a good place to stay in Palo Alto.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Your sliding door opens up to a Japanise Garden. The room is custom and unlike any other in Palo Alto. Right on the strip and accessible to all companies.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
Thank Localandloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I have stayed at Dinah's several times...the rooms are immaculate....the grounds are wonderful....ponds with Koi right on our patio...just wonderful surroundings with a great place to have a drink or dinner at Trader Vic's what a deal for about $100 bucks..room 611 on a pond with a deck , king bed just outrageous....loved...great professional service with good amenities....

Room Tip: Room 611 is wonderful try that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoPopDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
3.4 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £100 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing