We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dinah's Garden Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$610
US$592
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Parmani(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Zen Hotel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keen(Palo Alto)
US$270
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$406
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
US$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$250
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coronet Motel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$514
US$503
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Inn(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
728
271
71
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
271
71
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolside restauranttrader vicskoi fishsteam showerexercise bikepool sidean oasiswater featuresbeautiful groundsel caminosilicon valleychain hotelsold schoolrooms are largeking bedwonderful hotelparking lot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
951 - 956 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a unique property, a little eccentric even, but really a fine operation and I highly recommend it for families. The garden setting is surprisingly lush and private; the sound of running lagoon water and extensive vegetation creates a world apart. There are ducks, of all things, wandering around. Our Queen suite was clean and spacious, the high-def TV is everything you could want, the beds comfortable, the room decorations fun. Service is friendly. The pool is nice and secluded, the exercise room is sufficient.
Get a room that faces the gardens, not the parking lot. The walls might be a little thin, sounds do carry from other rooms. It is a bit of a drive to downtown PA, but it's only five or six minutes. We paid $110 for the suite and felt it was a fantastic deal, will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlingtonvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Plush gardens and water features all around. Spacious rooms. The pool was warm, as was the weather. Ate at Trader Vic's for dinner and the Poolside Grill for lunch. Wonderful meals at both places. Fruit, coffee and papers available in the lobby. We're in Palo Alto regularly for Stanford games, so it's nice to have a new place to add to our rotation.

Room Tip: Any room that doesn't face the parking area would be quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sactokaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed the fountain suite as that is all they had. Expensive but very spacious. Full kitchen which was nicely furnished with hardwood floors The living room and kitchen fac e a little lagoon which is nice but bedroom does not. The living has a fireplace. The bedroom has carpet that looks old and needs to be replace. Nthe bedroom mirror had marks on it and should ave been leaned better. The bathroom has a double sink but very small space. The shower has a tub which is very large but the facets are something yiu could buy at Home Depot and the water varies from extremely hot to hot. No in between. There is a towel rack that looks like it was picked up at a garage sale. Towels were old and rough. Need new towels. Is is very quiet which I liked. However if yiu are going to pay over $500.00 a night for a room I expect better. However, the staff was very friendly. There is a breakfast place near the pool and it was ok. Los the service was fast and good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a very nice property, well managed and well maintained. The rooms are spacious and comfy and the property is quiet, except on weekends when wedding guests tend to overwhelm the place. The poolside grill is a bit pricey, but breakfast there is very nice. The hotel is in California suburbia, so make sure you have a rental car! There are a lot of local restaurants (some very good) and stores for necessities or picnics.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanBison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was looking for something different to take my wife to for our 25th wedding anniversary for a long weekend, but it had to be somewhat local to us. Problem is, we travel frequently to various places around the world, and even though there are plenty of high end places in the Bay Area to stay at, we really find it difficult to find something that'll stand out as 'memorable'. Dinah's fit the bill here! I didn't even know this place existed until I was researching the area for a Trader Vic restaurant (which is on the property). Having stayed in the area numerous times for both business and leisure, I knew that accommodations were at a premium (with a price tag to match), and was more than a little bit nervous prior to arriving, since the rooms were very reasonable for the weekend. As soon as we pulled up out front, I was sure this was going to be awesome...and it was. Totally retro-Polynesian garden hotel, with rooms to match. The service was outstanding, the room was fantastic and it was such a quiet and relaxing area with sounds of the ponds and waterfalls. Ate at the old-style poolside restaurant for breakfast; couldn't believe the reasonable prices! Brought back great memories for both of us, and will always look at Dinah's as a place to go for a long weekend. We were, however, sad to hear that Trader Vics would be closing soon...but another restaurant will be taking its place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 500 building in the back (which is away from the pool and one story, so you won't have anybody above you). Really quiet back there.The FDR Memorial Suite was awesome, and one that will stand out to us forever!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headbanger5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews