We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Peaceful and restful”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We go to Palo Alto every few months to see to the needs of an elderly relative and since this can be a exhausting and stressful time, we look forward to going to the Dinah to rest - don't hesitate to book a room that is more than the standard or entry level room - we have stayed in three different types of rooms there and all were fine but the FDR Suite was marvelous ! Great for a weekend get a way for locals or a special treat for those travelling - it was perfect for us and made our stay in Palo Alto perfect - the amenities in the rooms are really good and the shower alone in the FDR suite is worth booking the room !!! - we even had a stationery bike right in the room !!! - Thanks to the wonderful staff there we will be back and we are all ready looking forward to it. - Love the Fuji apples !!

Room Tip: Book the "best" room you can get - we had a suite and I don't think we can go back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    235
    65
    20
    14
See reviews for
240
172
63
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Very relaxing stay. As long as you get a room with a view (not of the parking lot) you will enjoy this property. Not a luxury hotel but the large rooms w/ frig and sink have basically everything one would need. The place makes you feel you're back in the 1970s with classic fixtures and phones.

Front desk staff a bit confused and disorganized. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay and a great value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 272Traveler_1024_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

we stayed at the Dinah in early June to attend our daughter's graduation from Stanford. Several aunts and uncles and godparents also joined us so I had booked a total of 5 rooms. Thanks to the wonderful staff and great facilities at the Dinah, this wonderful family gathering and celebration was even better. First, even tho this hotel is on Camino Real just a few miles from Stanford, it is EXTREMELY quiet --, VERY quiet -- since it sits back behind Trader Vics, so QUIET QUIET QUIET -- everyone slept WELL. My husband and I had a small suite with a nice little kitchen and balcony -- so our room was the gathering point. Could not have been better, VERY updated and modern even tho the hotel is older (but has been well renovated recently) and EXTREMELY clean with nice decorating touches, quiet air conditioning, and coffee makers and refrigs in all the rooms! Our room was delightful, well decorated, VERY spacious and very comfortable for up to 12 people having some snacks and drinks one evening before heading out to dinner, sitting on the balcony and enjoying the nice weather! What a delight to be able gather and talk! Just perfect. I guess I was wishing there had been a breakfast, but as it turns out the cafe by the pool in the morning is FANTASTIC -- just a delightful setting and very reasonable prices with very good food! Again, the staff was very kind as they would gather up a few tables and chairs so we could be together! So, if you want your standard cold cookie cutter hotel room, go somewhere else, but if you would like a very updated, modern, very clean, fun place with a GREAT staff (THANKS Jessica B for everything) -- go to the Dinah! The grounds are wonderful with ponds and plants, the pool is delightful, the rooms are wonderful! All of our guests were very comfortable, slept well -- could not have been happier! THANKS THANKS THANKS! especially Thanks to Jessica for juggling our complicated reservations and welcome baskets so kindly!! Oh, just remembered this, one of our guests had hip surgery 4 weeks earlier so Jessica made sure the special toilet adapter for handicapped was in place even! THANKS kind of funny to mention that, but that was attention to detail at this place! :)

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet, and the suites are great if you need a gathering place -- we played cards, had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent two nights at Dinah's and loved every minute of it. We booked through an online service and got a very reasonable price. Our room was spacious, with a sitting area and a small patio in a lush green area. The pool was inviting, if a bit cool. Staff is helpful and friendly. And the small restaurant, open for breakfast and lunch, make simple food taste great at prices that would be considered low compared to other Palo Alto spots. The only disappointment was dinner at Trader Vic's, but they will be closing soon so that's not a deterrent for staying here again. This for sure will be our go to place for visits to Silicon Valley.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelilnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We just spent 2 nights at Dinah's Garden on a recent trip while our kids were competing in a sporting event nearby. On the positive front, the price was very reasonable, the room clean, pretty modern and the Internet and parking free. On the slightly less positive front, the location isn't great - you need to drive anywhere except for the Chinese Restaurant across the street, and the room was small. Being woken at 7:15 on a Sunday morning by music blaring from the poolside restaurant (yes, it was classical music, but still, a bit early), wasn't a highlight. Would I stay here again? Probably, because of the price, but don't expect more than an updated Motel experience. Nice for what it is, but not more than that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Remember that first apartment you had in college? The one where you picked up the furniture from the local thrift store, where it felt cool when all of the pieces sort of matched and you were excited when you found a few pieces of art from Aaron Brothers on clearance? Welcome to Dinah’s Garden Hotel. From the second that you walk through the glass security doors, across the carpet that’s coming apart, to insert your key in the 70s faux wooden door, you have the feeling you’ve been here before. Enter the room, ignore the dirty carpet, the odd choice of light fixtures and the stick on linoleum bathroom floor, don’t fixate on the forty-year old sliding steel medicine chest above the formica sink counter; instead, wonder how in the world this place got to be #3 on Trip Advisor. Clean, comfortable, but little changed from the Super 8 or whatever it used to be in the 70s -- not close to being worth the $200+ a night we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDFLYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in early August while attending a wedding. Beautiful grounds with koi ponds, running water, tropical vegetation, all in a great location right on El Camino Real just a few minutes from the campus of Stanford University and all levels of restaurants. The bed was very comfortable and the room well appointed. The "breakfast by the pool" restaurant food was very good, reasonably priced, and our waiter was a lot of fun in addition to being efficient. In fact, all the employees we encountered were very friendly, helpful, and efficient.

I would only note two concerns. One, the adjoining Trader Vic's restaurant was closing toward the end of my stay, so that is something you may want to ask about if it matters to you. Secondly, I got a number of mosquito bites, I suspect from all the ponds on the property. Only two other wedding guests I talked to expressed a similar problem and many guests - including my wife - told me they had no such problem. Worth noting, but definitely not a good reason to avoid this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikee355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Property: Dinah's Garden Hotel
Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing