We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place and nice alternative to the mega chain hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming place and nice alternative to the mega chain hotels”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The only reason I didn't give the hotel top ratings in every respect is that on our first night, we were in a room that was very worn and that was on top of a room that was undergoing very noisy renovations that began early in the morning. The next day, the folks at the desk very kindly moved us to a gorgeous room with a little private patio that had been completely renovated very recently. It was lovely and quiet.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatChance_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    240
    65
    21
    14
See reviews for
253
179
63
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I went to the hotel for a single night, to have a photo shoot. We stayed in the Bali - Lanai Suite. The room was very interestingly decorated, even though not really "Bali" themed. It was more like "pan asian" themed. The conditions were definitely dated, I'm think the room itself hadn't been update since the 70s, but it had a charm to it.

The fireplace was in an awkward place, but the two flat-screen televisions were fabulous. The bathroom was immaculate with cool spa features. The bed was HUGE (three people slept in it!) and very comfortable. The intricate headboard (it took up the entire wall) was definitely the highlight of the room. The hotel staff was very accommodating; though it was irritating to have to pay a deposit because I wasn't 21. Not to many late night delivery places near by, but it's a college town, so...

The garden had a beautiful asian theme with huge koi. There was a recently renovated pool (we didn't swim) with a great looking pool house. We took many photos in the beautiful garden. The only major turn off for me is that, the hotel looked like a sketchy motel on the outside.

If you're looking for a quirky, boutique hotel with good value, great customer service but a bit dated (with some surprising renovations): Dinah's Garden Hotel may be the place for you.

Room Tip: The themed suites are very fun, and more of a value. The Lanai Suites (which have a fireplace and vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Late_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Had business in the area, and could only stay at local chain hotel for one night and had to find accommodations for the second night, at Dinah's Garden Hotel. What a gem! Huge room with separate sitting area, a second door leading to the patio, pool, and restaurant, beautiful gardens with tranquil stream and pond running through the courtyard, a full bar of accessories and glassware in the room, and fresh apples on the bar.
Comfortable bed, very helpful staff. Eat at the restaurant next to the pool....the staff was friendly and helpful, portions large, and reasonably priced.
Dinner was great, breakfast...omlets must have had 4eggs in them, along with the fillings.
Next time anywhere near Palo Atlo, I'll be staying at Dinah's!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in one of the newly remodeled King Bedrooms with sleeper sofa & it was a fantastic stay. Rooms were large and uniquely decorated, shower had GREAT water pressure, bed was comfortable, they offer a minibar and in room coffee maker. The pool restaurant was delicious & well-priced for breakfast , great staff. And the landscaping and gardening was beautiful! My room opened out to the lagoon with a waterfall sound which helped me sleep at night!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedVelvetVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I can recommend this hotel to everybody, the staff is extremely friendly and helpfull.

I stayed there for a week and got an upgrade to one of the nice quit rooms.

Excellent breakfast and a nice pool area, too cold for february to enjoy it

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdh-1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was last year when I stayed the first time in Dinah's Garden Hotel. I stayed there for 3.5 weeks, so practically lived there and was very happy with the hotel. The rooms are big and clean. The pool area is spacious and you can have breakfast there! The restaurant has excellent food and the staff is super friendly!
I'm a big fan of the little chocolates and delicious apples you get there!
The gym might not have the latest machines, but it's still enough for a little workout in the morning before work.
The hotel is on El Camino Real and very close to the 101 and 280.
I choose to stay here again this year for another 2.5 weeks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We visited Stanford and needed a place to stay overnight. This hotel was very clean , comfortable, and had great landscape. It was very close to the University and we would stay again. They were in the process of refurbishing rooms, but there was no noise from it. It also shows that they keep their facility up to date.

Room Tip: They have rooms that overlook the gardens, I would recommend looking into those rooms since they loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Property: Dinah's Garden Hotel
Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing