We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Quiet comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Room was very quiet and newly renovated. Grounds a beautiful. A great alternative to chain hotels. The restaurant service and food was good, staff were friendly and attentive. I would easily stay here the next opportunity I have to visit Palo Alto

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelsOfTheCornetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    231
    65
    20
    14
See reviews for
237
170
62
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Dinah's Garden Hotel is a true hidden gem and beautiful tropical oasis within the city of Palo Alto. The property is gorgeous, the staff is super friendly & professional & they truly go above & beyond to make sure that your stay here far exceeds your expectations. The restaurant is also excellent whether you choose to dine there & be spoiled by the wait staff or order room service & dine on your private balcony. All you have to is relax & enjoy enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvvvvvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I booked Dinah's Garden Hotel through 'name your own price' on Priceline, where they said it was a 3.5 star property. Based on my experience, I would rate it a full 4 stars. Very friendly and customer service oriented front desk staff made check in a breeze. My room was large and very nicely appointed. I really liked that there was a small fridge, as well as a little sink and utensils in the kitchen area. And each morning they provide two Ghirardelli chocolates and fresh fruit at no charge. The grounds are beautiful - My room had a small private patio right on a koi pond, with lush landscaping. The pool is great - large, and easy to get in and out of. Ther are two restaurants on the property, as well as room service. The property is split up into several buildings, but there is ample parking around each one, so you never have far to go. And even though the hotel is situated right on busy El Camino Really, you really don't hear any street noise (at least I didn't in the building I was in at the back fo the property. Check out was also easy. I stay in Palo Alto about once a year, usually for a long weekend, and I've stayed at various other hotels. But now Dinah's is going to be my hotel of choice in Palo Alto. Sure, the Westin is closer to campus, but it's also (generally) much more expensive, and frankly, I preferred Dinah's.

Room Tip: The '600' building at the back of the property is nice - no street noise - ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks & the place is lovely. The entrance is decorated with flowers. The manager is very courteous. I got a room on ground floor facing the pool with a patio. The other side had a lagoon. You could hear the sound of fountain if your room is near. The lagoon has some fishes which can be amusing to small kids. The bed is very comfortable facing a 30 inch (approx.) TV. The whole hotel area (outside included) had free WiFi which is very helpful. The cleaning staff also did their job pretty well.

Small things on the negative side, the room didn't have white light. So if you want to read/write, that can be an issue. Sometimes you could hear noises of people walking on the floor above.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShubhamG06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very nice hotel, nice rooms and everything is very clean and fresh. Front desk is also very helpfull.
However be aware of the construction happening by the side of the 800 building. It's very disturbing at 8am every single day!!

Room Tip: Avoid the corner of 800 building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Dinah's Garden inn has been our constant place to stay for several years when we visit our daughter and her family in Palo Alto. A bit remote from downtown (15 minutes - but there is a free bus that stops in front of the hotel), the hotel complex has beautiful and well-appointed rooms (and the beds are incredibly comfortable). A lovely walkway with bridges crossing a stream has stopping places so visitors can watch the swimming koi and enjoy the soft sounds of the fountains scattered throughout. The staff are always professional and efficient and accommodating. There is a very nice centrally located outdoor pool next to a restaurant (which changed hands recently and unfortunately we now find it too pricey). The only negative is that the prices at the hotel have also spiked. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 100 or 300 building for greatest convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FansofUmbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here with my family in a ground floor suite in summer. Thought I'd try it for work in December. Hmmm. Top-/3rd-floor room, sounds good but means dragging bags up stairs or in a slow elevator and across gangways. Not enough parking. And why can't West Coast hotels have 24-hr gyms or open at 4 or 5am which is a decent time for someone who has to be at work by 7am for East Coast financial markets... Poolside restaurant freezing wind coming in through the door .. I guess the bed as comfortable...

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank freqstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Property: Dinah's Garden Hotel
Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing