We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Stay, Hard to Evaluate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

So we stayed here for two days while visiting family over a recent holiday and it was an odd place, not bad, just kind of odd. It is broken up into buildings and we were placed in the back with what we were told was a "renovated" room but that could have only meant that a flat screen TV had been added. The rest of the room looked like it was out of the 70s but it was big and clean, and reasonably quiet (we could hear people walking above) so not really a problem. But it also seemed like there were lots of other rooms available, some had crazy prices online, and it felt odd to be shuttled off to the back of the hotel when the place was half full. The pool was very nice, though service sketchy and one person rude (one lunch server was excellent in contrast) and the place felt a little unsecure -- no locked doors going to the outside and a fence was wide open that led out to an adjacent apt building that made me a little nervous. The area is safe but this just made it feel more like a low-end motel, though the prices were definitely not low-end. It is a quirky place, though, which I like so I might stay again but only if the rates were reasonable, definitely not worth paying premium rates.

Room Tip: Get a room that surrounds the pool but I assume there is a hefty price premium for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostontodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Dinah's property is beautifully landscaped with streams, bridges, lush and flowering plants and works of art. I love the scale of the development---low rise with buildings surrounding the pool. Our unit was on the ground level with a lanai that connected to the pool. The linens and furnishings were of good quality and service good. I loved the good WIFI and fresh apples in the room every day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna_in_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I recently stayed at the beautiful Dinah's Garden Hotel located in the bustling community of Palo Alto,CA. The hotel is conveniently located on a major thoroughfare~ El Camino Real and is not far from the 101 Highway (direct route up to San Francisco). Upon check-in I was immediately greeted by the staff and they checked me in quickly! The manager even recommended tourist spots, local restaurants (including their own Poolside restaurant!) and he even gave me some food to feed the koi fish! The hotel is a great value~ and the surrounding area is beautiful! I had a superior suite located on the top floor of the hotel overlooking the gorgeous koi pond. The Koi pond was full of fish, ducks, beautiful trees, waterfalls, bridges that provided a beautiful setting for walks, a lovely gazebo to sit at, and various works of art/sculptures artistically placed throughout the property! My room was just perfect! I had a king sized bed that was actually comfortable! And the bathroom was recently renovated. They provided a full stocked kitchen (and bar), a great little breakfast nook and a sleeper couch too! What I enjoyed most was the peace AND quiet of my room! I was actually able to keep my screen door open so that I could listen and be lulled to sleep by the waterfalls! I was at Dinah's hotel for a business trip/work. I stayed mostly on the property, because I was able to rest well and get a lot of work done! They also have a wonderful poolside restaurant that provides a wide assortment of foods from: Grilled seafood, soups, salads, pasta, burgers, vegetarian fare, and wonderful breakfast omelets! I am most definitely planning a return trip to the Bay Area and will be staying at Dinah's Garden Hotel. I HIGHLY recommend Dinah's Garden Hotel for THE place to stay during your visit to the Bay Area!

Room Tip: Definitely book a room overlooking the Koi Pond area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We found Dinah's the old fashion way - online searches! As we were driving there, we passed a few other motels and hotels and were not impressed. Given that our price was in the same range as the others, we felt Dinah's would be just ok. We were wrong. Service was great. Our room was amazing, large, spotlessly clean, very comfortable. The welcome apples and chocolates were a very nice touch. The grounds and pool area are really like an oasis, very inviting and calming. You immediately forget that the major roadway is only feet away. We will definitely return and recommend this place. Also, the price alone is worth the stay, but when coupled with the service, amenities and atmosphere, Dinah's climbs tot he top of anyone's list.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gl0bal_guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks last month, and was impressed. Very good-sized room, comfortable bed, apples and chocolates supplied each day, free parking, very clean. Had a couple of breakfasts and dinners in the pool bar - both reasonable value for the area and good quality food. It's about 4 miles from Palo Alto centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Bristol_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights recently and really loved it. Hard to believe that it's on El Camino, because it is so lushly planted with trees, shrubs, flowers (many exotic) that it feels like a tropical retreat. And the many separate small buildings, with streams and lagoons, increase the feeling of privacy. I found the artwork in the rooms and around the grounds quite remarkable -- and the owner can tell you the provenance of any that you're curious about. Room was spacious with excellent desk and table space and excellent internet connection -- very fine for working. I had no time to try the pool, nor to sit around it ordering drinks and snacks, but that looked very inviting. I have to confess that my stay was paid for (on business); I don't know if I would ever be so self-indulgent as to pay for such luxury myself. I also don't pay money to fly business class when I go overseas, but love it when it happens - and I think this hotel is much more affordable than flying business class, so on reflection, if I wanted a really lovely stay with my husband sometime, I would be ready to pay for it!

Room Tip: My room was a second floor lagoon room - excellent privacy, restful sound of fountains, lovely. A co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHPAmherst_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at this location since my typical hotel was full. The room was clean and quite large. The space was a bit dated and a little musty. The room had a large balcony. The restaurant and pool area are very nice and the service was great. The large drawback with this property is the lack of parking. I was lucky where the occupancy was not an issue. If the property is semi-full parking will be a problem. Other reviews mentioned the water pressure was a bit low, but it was not a problem for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
3.4 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £111 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing