We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Given that most of the motels in Palo Alto are pretty dyer this was a pleasant surprise. In particular impressed by the poolside restaurant. Food was cheap and well cooked/ presented.

Have heard that rooms near the road can be noisy but I was tucked away in the 600 block. Room was large and clean. Not the Hyatt, but then nothing is around here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    245
    67
    22
    14
See reviews for
264
184
64
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a fantastic stay here. The rooms are big and neat, with extensive facilities and scenic view. Just a small nitpick, would have been better if there were a few good vegetarian options in their menu (especially for breakfast).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I would never had known about this place had it not been for a convention held there. It's a well-hidden gem, and I'm almost afraid to write a review lest it all of a sudden be deluged by Bay area vacationers that learn just how awesome this place is. Since that convention, my husband and I have gone back at least once or twice a year to unwind. (Yes it is definitely a romantic getaway spot with chocolates and apples on the table when you walk in). This is the one hotel we go to where I feel at peace and relaxed just walking into the room. I look forward to it from the day I leave to the day I return.

The outside of Dinah's from the street is unassuming. The only clue to what you're going to experience is the gourmet restaurant (used to be Trader Vic's, now it's The Sea) at the front of the lot, and the humongous elephant statues outside the lobby. The décor is old world explorer and makes you feel like you just finished sightseeing Angkor Wat or Victoria Falls. The rooms are all different. No cookie cutter styles here.

The rooms range from small and cozy away from the lagoon to the lagoon rooms (a little more expensive, but 100% worth it to get a room on the second or third floor facing the lagoon...can't begin to describe just how relaxing it is falling asleep to the sound of the fountains) to the "someday I'll be able to save up and try a night there" Railroad Baron Suite that has electric trains and a remote to play with them while you kick back and watch them zoom around the room. Looking forward to that one...it sounds like fun. The beds are comfortable (so comfortable that this is the first hotel I've ever slept 12 hours straight in) and the facilities clean and spacious.

The staff at Dinah's are absolutely awesome...to the point they remember your name on the second visit, even if that second visit is a whole year later. I've never run into an unfriendly staff member there. Many multilingual staff as well (they have an awesome sign in the lobby right next to the clocks with times around the world that lists 'what languages are spoken here today'. There's one gentle man that speaks quite a few, including Italian and Portuguese, which lends to the world explorer flair of the place).

If you don't want the gourmet dining of The Sea, the Pool Side restaurant has great food. Dinah's is also close to Old Palo Alto (last time we found two hidden gems there as well...a homemade ramen shop and a bookstore I want to take up residence in it was that homey and awesome) and down the street from Dinah's is Franky, Johnny and Luigi Too, a great home style Italian place. There is a Peet's and a Starbucks very close by to satisfy any coffee cravings.

All in all Dinah's is AWESOME... Need a getaway to recharge? This is the place!

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms facing the lagoon are a little more pricey but worth every single penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed at Dinah's 3 times in the past 2 years, and each time we have marveled at the relaxed, beautiful setting, perfect location, comfortable rooms, and helpful staff. Opening the slider and listening to the fountains is a great way to fall asleep. Daily apples and Ghirardelli chocolates in the room is a nice touch! Pool is wonderful and has not been too crowded when we have been there...June, September and April. Dinah's is a gem!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Finally, a comfortable hotel in Palo Alto. My only complaint is that we were there during a heat spell and kept the sliding glass door open instead of using the a/c. The pond pump outside our room was a little loud. Shouldn't be a problem for you that rely on HVAC, however. Beautiful rooms, convenient and while not cheap, very fair price for the area and services. Terrific staff, by the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back facing east if you're going to keep windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Wow. The word oasis doesn't even begin to cover it. After a week of intense meetings in the bustle of San Francisco, I just wanted a little peaceful space for a couple of days before heading back to the east coast. I saw Dinahs Garden on the web so I took a chance and it was amazing. Dinahs is conveniently located just off El Camino, the busiest street in Palo Alto, but instead of traffic noise we hear a gently running waterfall and wind through the trees, and instead of a view of pavement we see trees and a mother and some baby ducks paddling on the pond, and large white and orange koi fish meandering about. It is truly a paradise. The room itself is spotlessly clean and spacious. Although this was a business trip, we remarked that this is a spot to which we would intentionally return to vacation.
For food, we can highly recommend the hotel restaurant for a tasty healthy breakfast. For dinners we dined across the street at the very tasty and affordable Su Hong Eatery.
Also worth mentioning that this is the first hotel I have stayed that had Braille lettering on its shampoos. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the massaging shower head with perfect water pressure. I may never leave, so you will probably see me here when you come to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Rivers, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I recently stayed in one of the beautifully renovated pool-side rooms at Dinah's Garden Hotel. The room was quiet, spacious, and incredibly comfortable...from the king sized bed to the sofa in the sitting area. Fresh fruit and a small refrigerator were very nice touches, and the gardens are lovely. Although easily accessed from busy El Camino, the hotel is set back and there was no road noise at all. The staff was super helpful and made sure that everything was to my liking. I travel to Palo Alto frequently, and this was the first time I'd stayed at Dinah's--it will now be my first choice whenever possible!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilgaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Property: Dinah's Garden Hotel
Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing